Fairy Lilies

Zephyranthes candida

The Zephyranthes candida or Rain/Fairy Lilies as they are commonly called have begun blooming this week.  This white one has been in my garden for two years now and it usually blooms randomly throughout the summer & fall.  But this is the first flush of blooms I’ve spotted this season. 

 

Zephyranthes rosea

 A new addition to my garden this spring was this pink variety called rosea and a yellow one called citrina (not blooming currently).   These bulbs will easily naturalize in the garden.  Hope to have huge colonies of these blooms in years to come.  Hope everyone has a nice holiday weekend!  🙂

 

5 responses to this post.

  1. I planted these just this spring and have seen neither hide nor hair of them. They sure are lovely!

    The foliage looks a bit like thick blades of grass Tina, so keep any eye out. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Very pretty! I have white ones (with one yellow one thrown in for some reason) and they have naturalized very nicely, even in my not so great clay. I love seeing the pink one!

    Thanks Indie, glad you stopped by. They do seem to thrive even in the harshest of conditions. 🙂

    Reply

  3. These are lovely and new to me. Very pretty, I think I need to try them.

    Thanks Christine, hope you pick some up soon. 🙂

    Reply

  4. They are so pretty and I love the name.. great that they naturalize.. Another item for my wish list….

    Glad you found something else to add to your growing wishlist Rosemary. 🙂

    Reply

  5. So pretty! It would be great to have some lilies blooming this time of year; as Rosemary says, another plant to add to my wish list:)

    Thanks Rose, always glad to contribute to another gardener’s wishlist. lol I see so many plants I want too! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

