Happy Birthday Grandma!

Today is my Grandmother’s 87th Birthday.  She raised me from the age of 5 until I joined the Navy at 18.  Then about 6 years ago her & my Grandfather moved in with us and we took care of them.  Sadly my Grandfather passed in February and her health declined.  Now she resides in a Retirement Home and we visit with her several times a week.  Later on this morning we are going to pick her up and take her out for lunch and a small party.  Happy Birthday Grandma.  We love you!  🙂

note: The photo on the left was taken when she was 22 years old.  She had just married my Grandfather and was expecting my father.  The photo on the right was taken a couple of weeks ago in her room at the home. 

8 responses to this post.

  1. How very sweet. Happy Birthday to your grandmother and have a great visit.

    Thank you Tina, it was a great visit. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I love that vintage photo of her! Happy Birthday Grandmother..

    Thank you Darla. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by skeeter on August 17, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    Happy Birthday to “Grandma” … You are so blessed to have them in your life for so long. I lost all my grand parents way too soon in life, sigh….

    Thanks for the tip on the butterfly bush!

    Thanks Skeeter, these were the only grandparents I had growing up. YW, hope it was helpful. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Wishing your Gramma a wonderful day…

    Thanks Rosemary.

    Reply

  5. I am glad she is in the Retirement home after some of her roaming. She looks happy. Nice you are able to visit her often….which one is she in? We sure liked Warwick Forest for my uncle.
    Happy birthday to her!

    Me too Janet, the structure has been very good for her. She is at York Convalescent & Rehabilitation.

    Reply

    • The York County Master Gardeners used to do Hort Therapy at York Con. & Reb. –maybe they still do. She would love that.

      I’m not sure, I’ll have to ask the Recreation Director. I know that they residents planted a veggie garden this spring and they have a Garden Club which she likes. 🙂

      Reply

  6. Happy, Happy Birthday to your precious Grandmother! ( I didn’t know your grandfather passed away, so sorry) I seem to remember she is the one that taught you gardening! 🙂

    Thank you Linda, I didn’t post about it until recently. Yes she was my garden mentor. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Happy Birthday to your beautiful grandmother! She has such a sweet smile.

    Thank you Freda. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

