Hydrangeas

Hydrangea paniculata 'Limelight'

 One of my favorite plants in the garden is my Hydrangea ‘Limelight’ and it’s looking great this season.  All the rain has made it lush and full of blooms that are slowly opening up.  I’ve tried to keep it trimmed into a small tree form so that I can grow lots of shade loving perennials below it.  Soon the greenish tint will fade into a creamy white as they age.

Hydrangea paniculata 'Pinky Winky'

 A new favorite this year has to be another paniculata ‘Pinky Winky’.  This is the third season in my garden and it has really leaped as the saying goes.  Last year I had a few blooms, but this year it’s covered in these white conical shaped blossoms.  Supposibly it will fade to a pinkish tone as it ages. In cooler climates the blooms will be a deep reddish pink all summer long.  Regardless I love it and can’t wait to see what happens next.  🙂

7 responses to this post.

  1. They are both beautiful Racquel and appear very happy in your garden. I love your circle photos with the highlights inside too. You are good with your computer! Very nice effect.

    Thanks Kathleen, I’m very pleased with how well they’ve done in my garden. Thanks, but it’s actually very easy with the program I use to make these cool frames. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I can’t believe how tall your Limelight is! I am thinking of getting some H. paniculata ‘Strawberry Vanilla’ next year. ….love the pink colors.

    And I gave it a severe haircut this spring too, just think how tall he would of been if I hadn’t Janet. I was checking out ‘Strawberry Vanilla’ at a Nursery in Wmbg (they had great prices & great looking plants as well) it was flowering beautifully. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Gorgeous hydrangeas!!!

    Thank you Darla! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Beautiful hydrangeas, these are one of my fave’s too!! Lovely healthy looking plants there, mine are a little sick this year so its nice to see some thriving =)
    Cheers Julia

    Thanks Julia. Sorry to hear that yours are looking sickly this year, hope they recoup fast. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Your ‘pinky winky’ is so pretty! I find that hydrangea flowers constantly change in their appearance and color, making them endlessly fascinating to me.

    Thank you Jennifer, I feel the same way about them. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Racquel,
    I love Limelight also. I have a row by my backyard fence that I underplanted with pachysandra and groups of white impatients. So refreshing in the heat of summer. I will have to keep an eye out for P.W.
    Thanks!
    Julie

    Reply

  7. Limelight is such a great plant. I don’t know what I am going to have to take out to make room for one.

    You have to find a spot for it, because it really is a great plant like you said Les. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

