Dutch Irises

(From upper left to right: ‘Apollo’, ‘Lion King’, ‘Blue Pearl’ and ‘Red Embers’ Dutch Irises)

Dutch Irises or Iris x hollandica are some of my favorite spring blooming bulbs.  This past fall I added ‘Lion King’ and ‘Red Embers’ to my small collection.  The names were as interesting as the colors on these new additions. ‘Lion King’ has the stripes on those gold falls with deep burgundy brown center petals that reminds me a bit of a Lion.  While ‘Red Embers’ is striking with the tones of brown, reddish burgundy & yellow. ‘Apollo’ and ‘Blue Pearl’ have been in my garden for a few years now and just keep getting better with time.  In fact it’s time to divide ‘Apollo’ since it has multiplied nicely.    I also have a unknown white variety that is long since spent, but these four are currently putting on a show in the garden.  There is a tall unnamed purple one that hasn’t budded up still to come as well.  Here’s some info on this easy to grow bulb:

 
  • Height 18-24″
  • Blooms mid-late spring
  • Variety of color combinations
  • Divide bulbs or collect seed to propogate
  • Plant in full to part sun
  • Hardy in zones 5a-9b
 
9 responses to this post.

  1. Oh my these are gorgeous!

    Thanks Darla. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Wow, Red Embers looks like is has some lavender colors in it as well. Really pretty!

    Yep the name is a bit deceiving, it looked more reddish pink in the photo posted by Brecks. I like the actual color better. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Lovely iris . Love Apollo.

    Thanks Rosemary, it’s one of my favorites too. 🙂

    Reply

  4. These are such charming Iris…I planted a few last fall and can’t wait to see them bloom!

    They are well worth the wait Scott. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Your irises are all really pretty. i especially like the blue one.

    Thanks Jennifer, yep the blue is in my top 3 faves too. 🙂

    Reply

  6. That’s for sure what I have-thanks so much for helping me out with identification! They are so pretty in your garden! Do they spread? I can’t tell if mine are or not. I hope so!

    You are so welcome, glad I could be of help. Yep they multiply into nice clumps which can be divided after they bloom. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Posted by skeeter on May 6, 2011 at 9:58 am

    I had Dutch Iris for the first time this year and I just love them! I am happy to see they will multiply, yipee..

    They don’t multiply as quickly as some perennials and other bulbs like Daffs, but that’s okay by me. 🙂

    Reply

  8. just came across your blog from Bloomin Tuesday….i host a garden party too on Thursday’s & would love to have you link up! xoxo, tracie

    Thanks for stopping by Tracies, I’ll have to come check out your ‘garden party’ and maybe link up. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Those sure are pretty. I had a few last year. Either they are still small out there, or the rabbits have eaten them.

    Thanks Sue, I hope the rabbits didn’t eat all of yours! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

