Wildflower Week: Downy Phlox

Phlox pilosa

One of the new additions to my garden this spring was the native Phlox pilosa also known as Downy Phlox or Prairie Phlox.  The common names reflect the fuzzy stems/leaves and it being found growing in dry locations such as prairies and woods. It is considered an eastern wildflower according to www.wildflower.org.

Downy Phlox or Phlox pilosa

I purchased this plant in bud a couple of weeks ago at the Native Plant Sale.  Here’s some more info on this herbaceous native perennial:

  • Flowers from May-June (mine started the end of April)
  • Found throughout eastern and central North America
  • Grows 1-2 feet tall and 12-15″ wide
  • Fragrant pale pink to lavender blooms
  • Prefers Sun to Partial Shade
  • Attracts butterflies and hummingbirds
  • Propogate by seed or stem and root cuttings
  • Hardy in zones 4a – 9b

I’m joining in on the Wildflower Week Celebration that Gail @ Clay and Limestone is hosting.  It will be my first time to join in on the fun.

13 responses to this post.

  1. I love phlox pilosa! I can’t wait for mine to start blooming, but it’s still a few weeks away at least!

    Well then you can enjoy mine until then. 🙂

    Reply

  2. How wonderful we both posted about our phlox…you have a lovely bunch of the native phlox..

    We were on the same wavelenght for this post that’s for sure. Thanks Donna. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I have not heard of Downy Phlox. What a pretty and delicate spring flower!

    Glad I could introduce you to a great native Marie. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Love the downy phlox, but I don’t have that one. Wonder if I could keep it away from the Easter bunnies? I have to spray rabbit repellent on my garden phlox!

    Those bunnies sure are alot of trouble…hope you find a place for this pretty native plant Cameron. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Phlox pilosa is one I do not have. I’ve been trying to keep track of the various Phlox…I have divaricata, stolonifera, subulata, and the summer blooming paniculata. Now I need to be on the look out for P. pilosa…although, I am not sure where I would put it since it is known to get so tall! Like Cameron, I spray constantly to keep the critters off ALL of my plants, esp. the phlox…so, perhaps I shouldn’t torture myself by adding yet another deer/squiirel/vole/rabbit – loving plant! It does look nice in YOUR, garden, though:-)

    It only gets to be about 2 ft tall from what I’ve researched Jan. You have to find a place for this great native, maybe a large container so that the bunnies have a disadvantage? 😉

    Reply

  6. Practically Perfect Pink Phlox pilosa…You are going to love, love, love this flowering plant! Thank you for sharing and joining WW. gail

    Yep it’s your PPPP! I should of known when I saw the blooms open…lol You are so welcome and thanks for hosting WW. 🙂

    Reply

  7. PPPP! Cool Raquel! Such a pretty plant. Phlox are some of the first perennials I ever grew. I tried starting some PPPP from seed – got one teeny tiny seedling, and hope it lives. It would be even better if more of the seeds sprouted for insurance. ‘Course, I could just buy a plant. . . . !

    Yep it’s Gail’s signature plant alright! I love the creeping and garden phlox so this was a no brainer or my garden. You should definitely buy a plant if necessary. Good luck with the seedling though! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Just stopping by to check out all the other participants in the Wildflower Week meme. Looks like you have some lovely landscaping and plant combinations! Phlox is so colorful and beautiful!

    Well thanks for stopping by PP and thanks for the nice comments as well. 🙂

    Reply

  9. So pretty… garden looks lovely.

    Thanks Rosemary. 🙂

    Reply

  10. This is a keeper. I got my start of it from Gail and I do love it. so much I’ve spread it around. I did not know it was called Down Phlox as she only called it PPPP-Practically Perfect Pink Phlox. You’ll love it too!

    I’m so excited to have Gail’s famous PPPP in my garden. I can’t wait to spread mine around so I can have these pretty lavender pink blooms everywhere too. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I also have a start of this phlox, thanks to Gail. I agree–it’s a beauty!

    Gail has been a generous gifter of this pretty wildflower. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Posted by Katering on May 4, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    I don’t know if it’s just me or if everyone else experiencing problems with your site. It looks like some of the written text within your content are running off the screen. Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them as well? This might be a issue with my web browser because I’ve had this happen before. Kudos

    I think it must of just been a glitch with your browser, but thanks for letting me know. I appreciate you stopping by too. 🙂

    Reply

  13. I think a rabbit ate one of mine in its little pot before I got them planted. I found another one at a local plant sale, grown from the same folks I got the first 3 from. They are all getting munched on. I need to get some chicken wire around them tonight in an effort to save them. My woodland phlox are being eaten, too, and it looks like I won’t see any blooms this year, unless the bub of them that I put on another tub grows back from the rabbit damage. My peas are in the vegetable garden now that we have chicken wire around it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

