Ummm…the scent of Lilacs

Dwarf Korean Lilac

I am so happy to see my new dwarf Korean Lilac or Syringa meyeri blooming this Spring.  It was a impulse purchase last summer since it was on the clearance rack and I couldn’t resist a bargain price of less than $3.00 for a shrub.  The scent is so sweet and I just want it to get bigger so I can cut lots of these pretty purplish pink blossoms for indoors. Right now it’s only about 18″ tall so I have to get down on my hands and knees to enjoy the fragrance. The other day I was trying to convince my husband to squat down and take a whiff and he looked at me like I had lost my mind, lol.  😉  Here’s some info on this pretty shrub:

  • Grows 4-6 ft tall
  • Hardy in zones 3a-7b
  • Full Sun  (Part Sun in warmer zones)
  • Blooms are Pink to Fushia
  • Blooms in late Spring or early Summer
  • Deciduous
  • Fragrance attracts bees, butterflies & birds
  • Average water needs
  • Propogate by division or rootball or softwood cuttings
  • Does not set seed
9 responses to this post.

  1. My favorite scent! Lilacs!
    Thanks for the post!

    Mine too Laurie. You are quite welcome! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Wonderful little shrub sure I can smell it here.

    Thanks Rosemary, wish my blog was scratch & sniff. Ha! 😉

    Reply

  3. That is a great buy for a great plant. Wish I could smell them.

    That’s what I thought too Susie. Wish you could too! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Nice score! Cut some of those tender green shoots and root them.

    Thanks for the reminder Darla, I might have to give that a try. 🙂

    Reply

  5. And bloom it did! That’s a lot of blooms for a new lilac. I wish I could smell it!

    That’s what I was thinking too Tina. Wish you could too, it smells soooo…good! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Posted by skeeter on April 20, 2011 at 10:40 am

    The scent of lilac is so heavenly to my nose! My parents had a beautiful bush but lost it after the flood last year. Sigh, they were sad to loose it as it was a beautiful spring bloomer….

    Mine too Skeeter, it’s one of the more lovely scents in the garden. Sorry to hear about your parents losing theirs, I bet it was a nice mature specimen too. 😦

    Reply

  7. So Miss Kim is fragrant?? Hmmmm will have to check her out.

    Mine is Janet. Of course she might not be Miss Kim, you know how they love to mislabel stuff. 😉

    Reply

  8. Love lilacs! You got a bargain! I have the dwarf ‘Miss Kim’ in her 5th year. She’s blooming along with the osmanthus and the fragrance just about knocks us over! Heavenly, though!

    The lilacs were blooming in France and the blooms were so fragrant and HUGE!

    Me too Cameron, and I was happy with the price since I had nothing to lose at this point. Osmanthus is another must have addition for my garden that I need to add soon. I bet they were gorgeous and the scent was heavenly! 🙂

    Reply

    • Min absolut yndlings øjenskygge til at lave smmoÃy/ke¸rke øjne er Cliniques Kitty Cat. Den er mørk brun/grÃ¥ og lyset reflekterer helt fantastisk i den. Ellers bruger jeg kun MAC og Bobbi Brown skygger pÃ¥ nær sÃ¥ lige denne her.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

