Bloomin’ Tuesday

 

(From upper L-R across & down: Scillia hispanica with Candytuft, white Dianthus, Vinca major Variegata, pink Dianthus, Scillia hispanica Alba and Scilla non-scripta or English Bluebells)

Well it’s that time of the week again when we show what’s blooming in our gardens.  Some new blooms for me this week include this charming little Scilla hispanica or Spanish Bluebell as it’s commonly called.  I have tons of the blue form and it also comes in a pink variety as well.  But I really love this white flowering type known as ‘Alba’ which is a bit more petite in stature than the typical blue one. The vining Vinca major is starting to bloom in the hanging containers on my shed.  I keep this aggressive creeper in check by containing it in pots.  It overwinters in these plastic planters and occasionally I repot it after cutting back the rootball and putting in fresh potting mix.  The variegated foliage looks great all season even after it stops blooming.  Plus it gives some interest to that blank shed wall that faces the garden. Grandma has the English Bluebells which are actually more of a lavender blue shade growing in her garden bed.  Their smaller in size than the Spanish Bluebells and the flowers are a more pastel tone.  More blooms from her garden bed include both of these Dianthus.  They love our cooler spring temps and will rebloom again in the fall after going dormant through the summer months.  Well that’s what is blooming in my garden this week.  To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in on the fun this week, please visit our gracious host Jean Ms Greenthumb.

17 responses to this post.

  1. Stunning colors here…I just cut back all of my tall dianthus…they will sent out another flush of blooms soon.

    Thanks Darla. They do reward you quickly if you give em a trim I’ve noticed. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I like your whites and blues together. They look really nice.

    Next to yellow & purple it’s my second favorite color combo. Thanks Susie! 🙂

    Reply

  3. I love that top left pic in the mosaic. So pretty!

    Thanks Tina, it’s my favorite of the pics too. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Dianthus are just wonderful, aren’t they? I have a neighor with them all across the front–and they are a show stopper! Love all your flowers!

    They are really a tough little plant Linda. They bloom when alot of other stuff hasn’t started or has stopped here too. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Love those white Scilla, really pretty. Your Candytufts, I might have a good spot for some in my garden….hmmmm. Glad you have that Vinca in a pot! You know what my mom’s front yard looks like!

    Thanks Janet, I really love the white Scilla too. It’s a nice change from all the blue ones. Oh I bet you can find a great spot for the Candytuft, it’s another wonderful perennial in my humble opinion. Yep I’ve seen when Vinca is allowed to go wild, not a good idea. 😉

    Reply

  6. Wow! love all those white and blue blooms, your garden is so beautiful with lots of flowers for Blooming Tuesday!

    Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed my collage of blooms today! 🙂

    Reply

  7. I love your bluebells, Racquel! I planted some a few years ago, but they never came up. Perhaps it’s time to try again–and in a different place.

    Mine get morning sun followed by full afternoon shade and that seems to make them happy. You must try them again, their worth it Rose! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Love the collage. I would also rather be outside as long as it isn’t too hot. Have a great day.

    Thanks Joani, glad you enjoyed my collage of blooms today. Yep I’m not crazy for the heat either, have a nice day! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Calling by from Bloomin’ Tuesday, as a first time participant, discovering all the other great blogs that participate. I miss bluebells, so lovely to see these.

    Welcome to your first Bloomin’ Tuesday, glad you are enjoying it. Thanks for stopping by LindyLou. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Posted by Happier Than A Pig in Mud on April 19, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    Great mosaic, your garden is very pretty:@)

    Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed my Mosiac today. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Your gardens are perking up nicely. Coming over from Bloomin Tuesday.

    Thanks Becca, glad you stopped by today. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Oh, I love the bluebells Racquel! I hope mine bloom soon. Now I want to go check on them! Your garden is always so much further ahead this time of year. It’s fun to see then I know what might be next for me. 🙂

    Thanks Kathleen, hope yours bloom soon too. Did you check on them? 😉 Glad I give you hope of what’s to come.

    Reply

  13. You have a lot of beautiful blooms!

    Thank you Zoey, and thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    Reply

  14. I have getting interested in more white blooms and yours are so beautiful, especially with the blue. Perfect!

    White is a perfect companion with any color, I’ve been trying to add more too. Thanks Jean! 🙂

    Reply

  15. WOw your bulbs are amazing ! Thanks for sharing these wonderful pictures! Paula in IDaho

    http://bucketideasforgardening.blogspot.com/

    Thanks Paula! You are quite welcome, thanks for stopping by today. 🙂

    Reply

  16. Why are you hiding Janne behind the camera (he is a gifted phegotraphor by the way) but he is way too stylish, would love to see more of his sartorial adventures on the blog. Welcome back and I look forward to what you have to offer as a full time blogger. Congrats on finishing up your studies!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

