Bloomin’ Tuesday

Welcome to the first Bloomin’ Tuesday of 2011!  The season is just beginning but shows lots of promise so far.  We’ve had alot of rain this spring and the garden is thriving and rewarding us with alot of color and green foliage.  In the shade garden the Variegated Solomon’s Seal and Ajuga are blooming their hearts out. My favorite spring bulbs are Dutch Iris and this white unknown variety is the first to open.  Miniature Narcissus ‘Hawera’ is still going strong and looks great paired with Brunnera ‘Jack Frost’.  But who doesn’t like the combination of yellow & blue flowers? Another long bloomer this time of the year is Candytuft.  This evergreen perennial works well with my Daffodils, Dwarf Irises and soon the Spanish Bluebells.  A new addition this spring was the pink & white Stock to this large container.  I love the spicy scent of this long blooming annual.  Yep I see the blank spaces too, so I’ll probably tuck in a couple more plants to fill out this pot. The first of the Clematis to open this year is ‘Niobe’ which starts out a deep rich burgundy that slowly fades to a purple with age. This climber will repeat bloom a few more times before the year is over. To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in this week please click on the link below.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Racquel! Your slide show is great. I can’t believe you have a clematis blooming already! wow. I’m jealous. It looks beautiful in your garden.

    Hi Kathleen, I’m glad you liked my slideshow of blooms today. I was surprised to see ‘Niobe’ blooming already too. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Love the new look Racquel. Nice slide show too. That clematis is gorgeous!

    Thanks Susie. I’m glad you enjoyed the slideshow. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by skeeter on April 12, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    I enjoyed the slide show girl! Stock plant is a new addition to my gardens this year. It will be interesting to see how well they do…

    I’m glad you enjoyed it Skeeter! I think you will be very pleased with the Stock, I’ve grown it in the past and it was a nice addition. 🙂

    Reply

  4. I just knew your gardens would be beautiful already! Love the slide show! Jean

    Aww… thanks Jean! Glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

    Reply

  5. They had some gorgeous Stock at Walmart on Sunday….love its fragrance! Great blooms!

    Did you get some? I love the scent too, it’s spicy like cloves. Thanks Janet. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Oh my! It’s all beautiful! We’re over in the Valley, and we really don’t have that many blooms yet. The daffodils are blooming…that’s about it. You’re much farther along in the season! Hopefully, I can participate soon.

    Thanks Deb, hopefully you will be showing off your pretty blooms soon. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Love your fantastic slide show.

    Thanks Donna, glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Hi Racquel, I especially like your Brunnera ‘jack Frost’. I have wanted one for a while- the leaves are so pretty, I wouldn’t care if it never bloomed!

    It’s a great plant and I wanted one for awhile and found two on clearance through a mailorder catalog. The leaves are my favorite feature too. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

