April Blooms

(From upper L-R across & down: Azalea, Lunaria annua, Aurinia saxatilis and Dicentra spectabilis)

Here’s the new stuff blooming in my garden this first week of April.  This Azalea is one of several that existed on the property when we bought it 14 years ago.  The others succumbed to some sort of disease and died out.  Lunaria annua is a biennial plant that is sometimes called Money Plant or Silver Dollar plant for its silvery translucent seed pods.  It’s a biennial since it doesn’t bloom until the second season.  The fact that it self seeds easily keeps these pretty blooms coming for years.   Aurina saxatilis is a perennial alyssum that prefers a well draining soil so it is great for a rock garden. Dicentra spectabilis or Bleeding Heart is a herbaceous perennial that goes dormant in the summer.  I plant mine behind other perennials so that when the foliage dies back it’s less noticeable.  Happy Spring!  🙂

14 responses to this post.

  1. Looks like spring is well on her way for you Racquel. I return to canada in 8 days, looking forward to what she has in store for me.

    And it has brought lots of spring showers with it Deborah. Hope there is alot for you see when you get back to Canada. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I like the dark purple of the Lunaria!

    Me too Janet! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Hi Racquel, I’m attempting to leave comments on my old favorite blogs again. 🙂

    I grew money plant a couple years ago. The seed pods are so much fun. Supposedly they self-sow like crazy but mine sure didn’t. I sort of wanted them too and I did not save any seed. Will have to plant them again sometime.

    Looks like spring has definitely sprung in your garden! Mine, not so much. The snow level dropped again last night. 😦

    Well hello there stranger! Haven’t heard from you in some time! 🙂 I didn’t leave their self sowing to chance this past year, gave them alot of assistance by spreading their seeds where I would like them to sprout. Hope the snow melts soon for you and spring makes an appearance.

    Reply

  4. Azaleas and bleeding heart in bloom–it’s definitely spring at your house, Racquel! I did see the first shoots of my Dicentra coming up, so it won’t be long here either.

    Yep spring has sprung in my garden and the rains have been non-stop which just makes everything grow faster. 🙂 Yay for your first shoots of Dicentra!!!

    Reply

  5. So nice to see all the blooms

    Glad you enjoyed my blooms Rosemary! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Beautiful blooms Racquel! Bleeding heart is so spectacular. Your flowers all say SPRING!! Yea!! 🙂

    Thanks Linda! I love the unique blooms of Dicentra. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Hi! This is my first time to your blog and I love it. You have some wonderful things blooming right now. The Aurinia is so pretty and great for a rock gardens.

    Welcome Kate, glad you enjoyed your visit to my blog. Hope you visit again soon. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Raquel girl you have so much going on !
    All I have are the crocus , but they are pretty and I do have to say foliage from other bulbs and plants are peeking up as well .. Spring does jump forward when she gets going doesn’t she ? LOL
    Very pretty pictures !
    Joy

    Thanks Joy, it won’t be long and everything will be springing forth in your neck of the woods too. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Yep, it’s looking like Spring is in full swing around your place.

    Thanks Darla, but your garden reminds me of early summer. So much further ahead than mine. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Posted by skeeter on April 5, 2011 at 10:54 am

    I am a learn as you go gardener with new plants in my gardens. Two years ago I had bleeding hearts that died. Two weeks ago when I was in Tina’s garden, she informed me they die out in the summer months. I had never heard that before and now you tell me the same thing. Ha, I dug out the dead flowers and off to the compost they went, not being dead at all… Ha, lesson learned on the Bleeding Hearts…

    Me too Skeeter, I’ve learned most of my knowledge from watching my grandmother garden and this blog. 🙂 Well at least you know now that they didn’t die out because of the summer heat just went dormant. Get some more really soon, their worth this little character flaw. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I like that money plant! So pretty! I’ve never seen the blooms only the seedpods. Very nice.

    Thanks Tina, I saw the blooms for the first time on Ms. Greenthumbs blog and realized they had the bonus of pretty blooms & interesting seedpods. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Happy spring to you! We are still waiting on spring to arrive here and so it was nice to see all pretty blooms in your garden.

    Happy Spring Jennifer to you too! I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms today. 🙂

    Reply

  13. […] April Blooms (perennialgardener.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

  14. […] April Blooms (perennialgardener.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

