Spring Chores

The weather has been quite mild for the past week so I’ve been busy doing all the cleanup that Spring entails.  Mostly weeding, trimming back spent foliage from last fall and raking out debris. All the front beds have been prepared and are just needing a fresh layer of mulch now. 

The back beds are a work in progress, hope to get out there today and do some more cleanup.  Here’s an example of the tasks I need to complete before spring actually arrives kicking and screaming.  Hope everyone has a nice weekend in or out of the garden.  🙂

11 responses to this post.

  1. It’s fun work though, getting everything ready and anticipating all of the beautiful blooms!

    It does give me a great sense of accomplishment Darla to get a bed prepared for the upcoming season. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Ahhhh…yes, A good reminder for me to get out this weekend and clean up the garden…and cross my fingers we don’t have a late frost!

    Glad I could remind you to get out there and play in the garden this weekend Scott. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Yes, good stuff and you are so lucky to be outside working. We still have snow covered beds and more on the way!

    Hopefully we don’t have any more wintery weather this spring. Last year we had snow covered beds the first week of March. Hope you thaw out really soon Joey. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Do we really have to 😉

    Yep we have to Deb, lol! 😉

    Reply

  5. Your gardens always look so nicely manicured, I know you take a lot of time with it…..your hard work pays off!

    Why thank you Janet for that sweet compliment. I am a bit OCD about it, lol. 🙂

    Reply

  6. So hoping spring arrives here soon so I too get get to the lovely chores of garden winter clean up ………so nice to see the sun in your garden.

    Hope you are able to get out in the garden soon Rosemary! 🙂 I’ve been trying to stop by your blog, but you didn’t leave a good link.

    Reply

  7. This weather has been amazing, hasn’t it? I’ve been doing the same thing. Spent 4 hours out in the garden this afternoon. Hope we get rain tomorrow!

    Take care.

    Hi Cameron! I’m loving these mild temps, I was so sick of that wintery weather. We got rain last night and the garden is popping with green stuff. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Good for you Racquel! I have done some of the same tasks but didn’t get finished before it turned cold again. 😦

    Enjoy the nice weather!

    Thanks Kathleen. Sorry to hear the Mother Nature has delayed your spring chores.

    Reply

  9. I have so much that needs to be done, but I have started a few things. Do you feel overwhelmed this time of year? I sure do! 🙂

    Me too Linda, lol. I have a whole list of projects I hope to get done, let’s hope my good intentions hold out. 😉

    Reply

  10. Hi Racquel…Nice to read about someone actually working out in the garden. It’s still to cold here for me, but I smell Spring in the breeze. Balisha

    Hi Balisha! Glad you enjoyed my spring chores post. Hope you get some warm weather soon so you can play in the garden. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Oh, I am so envious, Racquel! I keep thinking I could start cleaning up some of the flowerbeds, but every time I have a free day, the weather turns cold again–we’re supposed to have snow later this week again:(

    Sorry to hear that Rose, hope spring arrives soon in your neck of the woods.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

