Amaryllis ‘Apple Blossom’

I bought this Amaryllis as part of a kit last Christmas for my Grandmother.  Somehow it got misplaced all year and she found it this past weekend.  Fortunately the bulb still seemed healthy with some signs of life.  Figured I would give it a try so I potted it up and put it on the mantle.  Crossing my fingers for some blooms come early spring.  Click here to see what a pretty bloom it makes.  Here’s some more info on this bulb:

  • Gets to be 18-24″ tall (wow I need to stick a stake in the pot)
  • Hardy in zones 7a-11 (yay it’s hardy outdoors here!)
  • Prefers Sun – Partial shade
  • All parts of this plant are poisonous ( if ingested!)
  • Pale pink to white blooms
  • Blooms late winter thru early summer
  • Fragrant so it attracts bees & butterflies
  • Suitable to grow indoors and outdoors
  • Deer resistant
  • Do not overwater (or bulb will rot)
  • Propagate by dividing offsets or seed
7 responses to this post.

  1. What fun to find a lost bulb and grow it again. It’ll be a beauty!

    Thanks Tina, it’s starting to grow too! 🙂

    Reply

  2. One of the most beautiful Amaryllises! I’m sure it will be “in floribus” just in time for Christmas.

    Tyra

    I think so too Tyra. I love the pink vs. the typical reds you see everywhere. Hope so, that would be a nice present! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Will keep my fingers crossed for you! I had a couple Amaryllis in the ground in Seaford. Really fun to have them in the garden. Be thinking of a good place for yours this spring!

    Thanks Janet, I’ve seen some growing in my neighbor’s yards too. I didn’t realize they were hardy here, so cool. Yep I think I know the perfect spot for this beauty come spring. 🙂

    Reply

  4. That’s one of my favorite amaryllis. Balisha

    Good to know Balisha, I’m looking forward to the blooms. 🙂

    Reply

  5. With your green thumb, it’s sure to bloom! Keep us posted on your fun find 🙂

    You’re too sweet Joey. Thanks! I promise to keep you all updated on it’s progress. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I had an “Appleblossom” last year, and I’m hoping it will come bloom again this year. It really is a pretty amaryllis, and yes, it can get quite tall. I had to stake mine to take the leaves from flopping all over. These blooms will be something to look forward to in the coming cold months!

    Hope it blooms again for you this winter Rose. I need to stick a stake in mine before I forget. 🙂

    Reply

  7. I bet it’ll bloom. Hope so. Love the color of this variety.~~Dee

    Thanks for the encouragement Dee! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

