Bloomin Tuesday

Tricyrtis formosana or Toadlily 'Purple Beauty'

Last week I said that my Mums were the last new blooms for Fall but I was so wrong.  This Toadlily started blooming this past weekend.  To be honest I had forgot about the Toadlillies since we had such a dry summer this year, they were looking a bit worn out and raggedy.  So imagine my surprise when it started budding up afterall.   I love the the purple speckles on the white blooms.  So pretty!   To see more Bloomin Tuesday posts this week or to join in on the fun, please visit our gracious host Jean at Ms Greenthumb.

13 responses to this post.

  1. What a lovely blossom and a nice treat after the mums.

    Yep it was a nice treat indeed Rosemary. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I have found this to be one tough perennial, one that has made it through at least 10 summers in my garden.

    It does seem tough, but another clump of mine was a bit heat burned this year. 😦

    Reply

  3. A nice surprise indeed, love the freckles!

    Me too Darla! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Need to put this one on my list for next summer’s purchases, I love this flower.

    Yep and you have lots of shady spots they would enjoy too. 🙂

    Reply

  5. I haven’t checked mine lately. I figured the heat this year killed them. I’ll have to go check in the garden.

    That’s what I thought too Susie, guess these are tough perennials. 🙂

    Reply

  6. what a pleasant surprise! And so beautiful

    Yes it was a pleasant surprise. Thanks Teresa. 🙂

    Reply

  7. What pretty blooms. I think the spots are so unique and lovely. An added bloom to the Fall garden is always welcome too.

    Thanks Lona. I love the spots too, they really add alot of interest. Yep you can never have enough fall bloomers. 🙂

    Reply

  8. What a stunning lily. Can see where it gets its name.

    Thanks Greenearth, yep it’s a beauty. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Love the toadlily! I just got some this fall for my shade garden. Can’t wait to see them bloom. Don’t you love surprises? Jean

    Thanks Jean, oh glad you got some for your garden. They are a wonderful perennial for fall blooms. Yep I sure do! 🙂

    Reply

  10. They are really pretty flowers! What a nice surprise to find right now, huh?? 🙂

    Thanks Linda, I love surprises especially in the fall. 🙂

    Reply

  11. They are sweet! What a nice surprise!

    Hi Tina, I was wondering where you’ve been! Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  12. What a lovely flower, I wonder is it would do well here in Washington State. I did pick a couple of hydrangea blossoms to put on the table on Saturday. All I can see in my garden is piles and piles of maple leaves. The three trees are almost bare but welneed a dry couple of days so that we can get them cleaned up,

    Thanks Sherry. It’s hardy to zone 5a, I don’t know what your zone is in Washington state. I love dried Hydrangea blossoms, but I never seem to bring them indoors, just enjoy them in the garden. Hope you get all your maple leaves raked up soon. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Oh, aren’t you so glad to have discovered the blooms? It’s a beautiful one for sure. I finally added one toad lily to my garden this spring after seeing so many last year (on blogs). The flowers are so exotic looking ~ like orchids or something. Seems hard to believe they are so hardy when they look that tropical.

    Yep I was happily surprised and greatful for their beautiful little blooms. 🙂 It’s hard to believe they are so hardy cause you’re right they do look very tropical & exotic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

