Final Bulb Order

Just when I thought I was done planting bulbs this fall another shipment showed up.  Isn’t that how it always works out? lol  That’s okay, because come next spring all my hard work will pay off big time!  Here’s what was in this order:

  • Dutch Iris ‘Lion King’ (10 bulbs)
  • Poppy Anemone ‘Burgundy’ (15 bulbs)
  • Dutch Iris ‘Red Ember’ (10 bulbs)
  • Allium ‘Pink Jewel’ (3 bulbs)

The ‘Lion King’ Dutch Iris was a duplicate order from last time.  I really loved the coloring on this flower so I ordered more bulbs when they put them on sale.  ‘Red Embers’ was a impulse purchase because you can never have too many Dutch Irises in the garden.  They’ll look great in the Arbor Garden with the variety of pinks, purples and red tones already there.  Alliums are always a winner in my opinion, low maintenance and long blooming.  The Anemone poppies were a must for the New Garden bed to play off all the oranges, yellows and purples.  Here’s a list of my summer 2011 bulb wish list candidates:

  • Society Garlic (Tulbaghia) – this is a plant that is low fuss and I really want more of for the garden
  • Rain Lillies (Zephyrantes) – the blooms can be white, yellow or pink and starts shining in October
  • Alstromeria ‘Tangerine Tango’ or ‘Mauve Majestry’ – a great cut flower that I’ve been eyeballing in Brent and Beckys Bulbs Catalog for sometime now
  • Crocosmia – a yellow flowering type such as ‘George Davidson’ would be a great addition to my New Garden

These will be ordered come the spring of 2011.  What are some of the bulbs on your wishlist for next spring?

10 responses to this post.

  1. Now that things have slowed down around here, I intend to send you some more walking iris, do you have a place to keep it over the winter? and I’ll send you a piece of society grarlic….

    Oh you are too sweet Darla. 🙂 Yep I could keep it in the garage which stays about 50 degrees during the winter. Do you think that would be ok? Thanks!!!!!!

    Reply

  2. garlic…sorry

    lol, that’s okay. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Racquel girl .. my last order arrived two days ago .. Poet Daffodil , scilla, Chionodoxa Violet Beauty and a bonus of 70 snow crocus for free !
    Now how good can it get ? .. the part where I have to actually plant these babies is going to be a bit tricky .. I do question my sanity as to why I ordered more in the first place !!
    I think we are all a little tipsy when it comes to bulbs/plants in the garden ??
    Joy
    PS .. Happy Halloween !!

    Happy Halloween JOY! I bet you are in your element this evening, lol Yep I was pretty good this year and didn’t order as many as I have in past years. Have fun with all your new babies… 😉

    Reply

  4. I haven’t even thought about next spring, though I hope I remember to add some rain lilies…and the alstromeria would be nice, too. I finally have all but a few crocuses planted in the ground, and that’s it for this fall …unless I see a great sale, of course:)

    I know it seems so far off but it will be here before you know it Rose. Hope we both remember to add these come next spring. 😉 Congrats on getting the majority of your fall bulbs planted and yep I look for sales too, lol.

    Reply

  5. I received tulips and they are chillin’ in the frig! My order of daffodils (heriloom) are not here yet and I am getting worried. Because of MG classes, I ordered them later than normal. I don’t plant until December, so there is plenty of time…just wish I had them in my hands! 🙂

    Yep that’s why I don’t plant Tulips, that whole chilling them thing. Don’t worry they’ll be there soon. I can plant right up till the end of November usually. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I have finished my fall bulbs planting over a week ago and starting to make a wish list for spring bulbs shopping.
    So far on my list are:
    Double Oriental Lily ‘Serene Angel’
    Oriental Lily ‘Salmon Star’
    Dinner Plate Dahlia ‘Ice Cube’
    Asiatic Lily ‘Centerfold’

    Wow sounds like you have some great things on your wishlist so far. Thanks for stopping by my blog today NK! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Great choices Racquel. I added a few new tulips and more Alliums (you can never have too many of those, right?). I actually didn’t order as many this year and I’m glad since I haven’t seemed to have time to be outdoors much lately. Happy planting!

    Thanks Kathleen. Nope you can never have too many Alliums in my opinion either. 😉 I didn’t order as many bulbs this fall either but can’t wait to see how they all look next spring.

    Reply

  8. Great list Racquel. Thinking about Naked Ladies or Resurrection Lilies. Also saw B & B are having their fall sale– so I was looking at fragrant jonquils.

    Thanks Janet, I would love some of those Naked Ladies myself. They are quite pricey, I’ll just have to indulge myself. 😉

    Reply

  9. Good for you, Racquel, for adding more bulbs! Your spring garden will be awesome;-) I was looking at Brent and Becky’s Bulbs website just today, and am thinking about adding a few more daffodils. There are so very many varieties to choose from–I hardly know where to begin! I did add some Allium bulbs in the spring of 2010. They were sent from an online nursery and had already bloomed and were packed well, just completely covered by dirt and needing to be planted directly in the ground. They’ve been in the ground all summer and will stay there through the winter. Hopefully I’ll get a surprise in the spring. I have loved the Allium’s I’ve seen on so many garden blogs.

    Yep even though it is such a task every fall, I try to add a few new things for the following spring every year. You will be so glad you added those Alliums, they are a wonderful plant. So low fuss and long blooming. Even the seed heads are interesting. 🙂

    Reply

  10. It must be lovely to imagine what your garden will look like in the spring!

    It is fun to imagine things turning out just how just like you pictured. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

