Fall To Do List

Vitex Tree on 5/6/10 and 10/22/10

I’m so impressed with the growth rate of this ornamental tree.  I bought it as a seedling on May 6th  and it has done so well in this container.  Now I’m seriously considering planting it this fall which means I will need to create a new bed out front where it can get some sun.   I’m thinking of a raised bed with the Vitex as the focal point and underplanted with some small ornamental shrubs and annuals for seasonal color.  This is just one of many tasks that is keeping me busy this fall.  I have a long list of things to do still.  Here’s some others on my to do list:

  • Finish planting spring bulbs and seeds
  • Replace landscape timbers in raised bed
  • Move overgrown Knockout Rose
  • Clean out veggie beds and containers
  • Make one more veggie bed
  • Store garden decor in shed
  • Remove fountain pumps and store in shed
  • Divide Monarda and put in other areas
8 responses to this post.

  1. It has done very well for you indeed. These trees are super and quite drought tolerant so put it in a dry spot if you have a difficult one. Mine is in part shade so it is adaptable. Have fun getting your list done. I’m almost done with my bulbs and rain is expected-first time in two months! Have a great weekend!

    Hmm…thanks for that info Tina. There are several dry areas in my yard that would be perfect for it. Hooray for some rain, sounds like you have the perfect weather coming for all that planting. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Well, you learn something everyday. I had never heard of this tree. I had to look it up. What a pretty tree. Probably not hardy here. It deserves a special place in your yard. Have a nice weekend. Balisha

    Glad you learned something new from this post Balisha. It’s hardy in zones 6a-9b. Thanks, hope you have a nice weekend too. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I have one of these to plant myself. I found the seedling at work, dug it up and brought it home. I’ve been waiting for cooler weather and better chances of rain before planting it. This is a great tree.

    Well then I wish us both good luck with our new little trees. I paid a $1.00 for mine but the money went to the Master Gardener’s Organization. 🙂

    Reply

  4. You will get it all done too Racquel! You are so industrious. If you finish early, would you come help me?!!!! 😉

    Thanks for the vote of confidence Kathleen, and yes I would love to come help you! lol 😉

    Reply

  5. That’s quite the impressive list! When’s the deadline?

    Yep I’m a bit ambitious. The deadline is by the end of November. 😉

    Reply

  6. I know you have wanted a Vitex for so long, happy you have one! I know it will have a great home in your garden.
    All the other fall tasks are not much fun. I know you will have it all done and tidy in short order.

    Me too, and happily surprised that it turned out to be pink instead of the usual blue tone. Thanks Janet, hope I keep up the motivation to complete these tasks. 🙂

    Reply

  7. The Vitex really has done well for you this summer; your idea for a new bed with it as the focal point sounds like a great idea. I have a long list of to-do chores, too–I just hope this warm weather lasts long enough for me to get them all done:)

    Yep and I’m so happy that it has done so well. Thanks I can’t wait to make it and start planting. Hope we both get our long list of chores done too. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Racquel girl I had such a hard time looking that tree up ! All the info was about it’s medicinal use (which is also very impressive as well !)
    It looks like a lovely little tree but out of my zone .. darn it !
    I have so much more to do with the garden and shed it makes me panic a bit .. we are stuck in rain day mode which of course is great for the garden but makes my jobs sit on the back burner for a while yet.
    Love the look of your blog girl : )
    Joy
    Sorry that it won’t work in your area Joy. It’s a great tree, they are almost as popular here as the Crepe Myrtles. We’ve been having a rainy week so far too. Hope you get all your garden jobs done soon. Thanks! I changed it again. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

