Trash to Treasure

I’ve had this concrete birdbath for a number of years now.  My friend inherited it with the house she bought and was going to put it on the curb.  Of course I intervened and saved it from the dump.  The bland grey color has bothered me for sometime now.  So when I was in Lowe’s the other day looking for spray paint for another project I was happy to come across a solution.  The product I used is called Rustoleum Concrete Spray in Limestone.  I would of loved the Earth Brown shade, but it was out of stock.  It still looks better than it did though.  Anyhow I can always try staining it again with the brown tone later.   🙂

note: after placing it in the garden it looks so much better next to the plants.  plus it compliments the shed too. 🙂

Some other garden accessories that were rescued from the curb or recycled are:

  • garden bench that is given a coat of my signature red spray paint every year.  My grandma found this on a curb and brought it to me.  She knows I love using found objects in the garden. 
  • washtub planter that is also given a coat of the same red spray paint.  It was given to us 22 years ago by a friend who was going to put it on the curb as well.  It has been a planter in all my residences. 
  • swing frame that was rescued from the curb with the birdbath and is painted brown.  The wooden swing was found at Lowe’s and has my signature red color added to it too. 
  • brick edging for fire pit  these were formerly in a small planting bed in my front yard.  I kept them for sometime since I knew they could be repurposed elsewhere in the garden.
  • tv antenna turned trellis this was a section of an old tv antenna that was attached to my house when we purchased it 14 years ago.  I wish now we had kept the entire thing. 
13 responses to this post.

  1. That birdbath is awesome. How awesome that you saved it from the curb!! Nice find.

    Thanks Meems, I can’t believe some of the stuff people throw away. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Your birdbath will be an active place for all the birdies in your yard. Good for you to think to paint it too! I had one that cracked and fell apart (concrete) during one of our winters. The paint should prevent that from happening to yours.

    Thanks Janet! I always turn my birdbath tops over in November to help prevent that cracking. Hope you’re right! 🙂

    Reply

  3. You just never know what you might find huh Racquel? The birdbath looks wonderful!

    Hope you have a great weekend!

    Yep me and Hubby love just wandering Lowe’s looking for inspiration. 😉 Thanks and I hope you have a great weekend yourself!

    Reply

  4. I can’t believe someone would throw it away. It’s so perfect!

    I know, right? Some people just aren’t as thrifty as us, lol! 🙂

    Reply

  5. I love that concrete spray!

    Thanks Monica, me too! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Yep–I am one of those trash to treasure people too. As a matter of fact, I really “need” a new, old chair for the back! 🙂 (Love the birdbath!)
    Have a great weekend Racquel!

    And you have some wonderful treasures to show for it Linda. 🙂 I could use a chair for the back too, I had one for years that I found on the curb. It was handmade. Have a nice weekend yourself!!!

    Reply

  7. Nice scores in your list. The birdbath and shed to compliment each other nicely.

    Thanks Darla. I’m glad you enjoyed all my trash to treasures. 🙂

    Reply

  8. I think I would leave the bird bath that limestone colour — it looks great in the garden! I love posts like this, hearing how others turn “trash to treasures”. 🙂

    Thanks Nancy, I might just do that. I’m pleased with the color now that I see it in the garden. 🙂

    Reply

  9. I love the transformation. I didn’t know about the cement paint. I will have to try that on our birdbath, we have had it for several years. I was also reminded about other items in our gardens that could use a spruce up with paint.

    Thanks Sherry. I didn’t know about it myself until I saw it at Lowe’s. Such a quick and easy way to spruce up some garden art. 🙂

    Reply

  10. I first used the concrete paint last year, when I painted an old fish box to use as a trough garden for hens and chix. It has held up through all kinds of weather. I think the color shows up more that the brown would have. I love finding curb treasures…Balisha

    That’s good to know info Balisha. I’m glad you like the color I chose, it’s growing on me. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I can’t believe she was going to throw it out, crazy, it is not even broken.
    I love freebies, my tv tower was my best find, so far…..

    I know right? She isn’t a gardener and I was more than happy to take it off her hands. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Your “new” birdbath looks great, Racquel! I still have the first ceramic birdbath I purchased, whose base was knocked over and broken by something. I’m still trying to figure out how to repair it; the top is too pretty to just discard.

    Thanks Rose! Hopefully you can fix it with some type of ceramic adhesive or something. I know what you mean about it being too pretty to get rid of. You could always use the top as a planter for sedums or something.

    Thanks for the tip on your last post about the ‘Limelight’; I thought you had probably just pruned it, but I wanted to make sure.

    You are quite welcome. Glad I could be of help. 🙂

    Reply

  13. I never see “treasures” like what you’ve found on any curbs around here! I would have picked up that birdbath too. It looks great in your garden.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

