My favorite view…

Hydrangea Garden 10-8-10

This has to be my favorite garden bed this season.  When I sit out on the patio in the morning with my coffee, this is my view.  The Hydrangea paniculata ‘Limelight’  brightens up this area and has been blooming nonstop since earlier this summer.  I’m also loving the combination of the Hydrangea quercifolia ‘Little Honey’ with Hydrangea macrophylla ‘Nikko Blue’.  That gold foliage of the Oakleaf looks great against the blue blossoms in summer and even now with the faded dusty rose.  Trimming up ‘Limelight’ into a tree form was the best move I’ve made, it created all this wonderful space underneith for some of my favorite shade lovers.  For example the variegated Solomon’s Seal, Christmas Ferns, Heucheras, etc… Another of my favorite things in this bed has to be the red washtub planter that is currently sporting the fall pansies.  It would of looked better if Spaz wouldn’t sit in it, lol.  What are some of your favorite views in your garden?  🙂

14 responses to this post.

  1. Your view is spectacular Racquel ~ and so is ‘Limelight.’ I agree, it was a GREAT idea to trim up the limbs. It’s just stunning. I really need a hydrangea so I can cut some of those wonderful bloom heads. You’re so lucky to see this every day!

    Thanks Kathleen, I really adore ‘Limelight’. It has been such a great asset to my garden for the past 8 years. You could add this one to your garden, it’s hardy in zones 3-8. 🙂

    Reply

  2. That ‘Limelight’ is a stunner and I see ‘Little Honey’ is doing well too!

    It’s the highlight of my garden every season Tina. Yep I’m really pleased with my ‘Little Honey’ as well. So far it’s really living up to the name. 🙂

    Reply

  3. That is a great view, I bet it makes your coffee taste even better!

    Thanks Darla, it sure brightens my day that’s for sure. 🙂

    Reply

  4. You need to give Spaz a new place to sit.

    Ha, yeah that would make it easier for my pansies huh? 😉

    Reply

  5. I can see why you like that view. It really is pretty.

    My limelight bloomed this year but the heat and no rain has just about killed it.

    Thanks Susie, I’m sure if you just give it alittle extra attention for the next year it should pull through. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Wonderful…it’s so satisfying to have accomplished a wonderful vignette like that!

    Thanks Scott, I’m quite pleased with this part of the garden. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Oh it is most definitely a peaceful, reflective scene. Enjoy!

    Thanks Randy, I will! 🙂

    Reply

  8. That is quite a beautiful view!

    Thanks Meems! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Love the red washtub planter–especially with yellow flowers in it! I can see why that is your favorite view!

    Thanks Linda, I’ve had fun planting different colors in it every year. 🙂

    Reply

  10. This is indeed a beautiful view, Racquel! What a great way to start your morning by being able to look out at this peaceful vista.

    I want my ‘Limelight’ to look just like yours–did you stake it at all or just trim away the lower stems in the spring?

    Thanks Rose, yep it sure brightens my day. I just cut off any lower branches that sprout every spring. It gets easier every year. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Very nice bed and so tidy. Someday I’ll get tidy.ha

    PS
    Thanks for the tip on roses.

    Thanks Patsi, lol. You are quite welcome! 🙂

    Reply

  12. I love what you did with the limelight. I have one that looks similar, not sure if it is limelight. I don’t like how it sprawls all over and lays on top of all of the plants around it. Maybe I should try to prune it like a tree. Should I cut it back now and see what happens? It is part of my favorite view from our back porch.

    Thanks Sherry. You could start limbing it up now and then again in the spring to achieve the shape you want. Good luck! 🙂

    Reply

  13. Your garden looks wonderful!! I really like Little Honey. You have created a beautiful retreat in your yard.

    Thanks Janet, I’m loving ‘Little Honey’ too. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Love your hydrangea tree!!!

    Thank you DGG! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

