Propogating Pineapples

Propogating a Pineapple plant is not difficult.   The hardest part is getting it rooted.  You need to first purchase a mature and healthy fruit with firm green leaves on it.   Here are the steps involved:

  1. Cut the top off the pineapple, removing all excess fruit flesh. 
  2. Make horizontal cuts from the stem until you see root buds (small dots on the surface). 
  3. Remove the lower leaves exposing an inch of the stem where you might find root primordia (baby roots).  
  4. You need to let the stalk dry out for a few days before placing it in a glass of water to root. 
  5. Place in a clear glass in a spot that is free of drafts and strong sunlight. 
  6. Change the water out every few days.    (should root in 3 weeks)
  7. Once roots appear you need to plant the crown in a well drained potting mix.  (such as a cactus mix)
  8. Keep soil moist not wet.  Place in a sunny spot or window. 
  9. If you get roots and new leaf growth that’s a good sign
  10. Repot the plant after a full year of growth.
  11. It’s a tropical plant so it will need to be kept indoors for the winter in temperate climates.

note:  I’ll keep you updated on how this experiment works out for me.  Figured it might be a fun project for the upcoming dormant season. 🙂

11 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Racquel, i am amazed at the difficulties people in temperate countries have to go through in propagating and planting pineapples. Here in the tropics you can leave them on the ground and they will just root there, so easy. BTW, the shoots emerging at the base of the fruits can fruit earlier than the crown. They are smaller but flower and fruit faster, they are called slips and are the most usual propagating materials for pineapples. This is just an advice in case you still don’t know this. Thanks for your visit to my flying flowers, haha!

    I’m always amazed at the gardeners who live in tropical climates that can grow things year round that are only annuals here. Thanks for the advice Andrea. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I wish I could grow pineapple here. That’s so cool.

    I can grow them in a pot here outdoors during the warmer months but have to bring it indoors for the winter.

    Reply

  3. I love my pineapple plant! The best houseplant here as it does not drop leaves. It gets really big after a few years and might actually grow a pineapple that you can eat. What fun!

    Thanks for the info Tina. I would be so stoked to actually get a pineapple to eat! 😉

    Reply

  4. I tried this last year but the only thing that happened was it rotted. I’ll be interested to see how yours turns out.

    Yep that happens alot from the research I’ve read. In fact most people recommend starting two so that you have a better chance at getting one of them to root. I’ll keep you updated. 😉

    Reply

  5. I had no idea you could propagate pineapples! Good luck with your experiment, Racquel.

    Me neither Rose, thanks for the encouragement! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Fun, fun, fun. I actually had one root directly in the garden years ago. Frost got it though….maybe I should try it your way.

    Yep I love experimenting Darla. 🙂 Aw..that’s a shame, hope you try again.

    Reply

  7. What a great idea, must give it a try.

    Glad I could inspire you to try it Greenearth. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Posted by Jan Wilhelm on October 7, 2010 at 5:29 am

    Years ago when I lived in Englewood, FL I grew pineapple. The local grocery store (Publix) would give you the tops if you asked. The raccoons were amazing! If you left the pineapple on the plant until it was completely ripe often the raccoons would pick it the night before you planned on picking it.

    Homegrown pineapples are so much better than the ones you buy at the store!

    Hmm…that’s cool that the local store gave you the tops. Clever little raccoons, do you blame you for wanting that delicious sweet fruit? lol 🙂

    Reply

  9. This is a great experiment for winter Racquel. You can keep us involved with the updates too!! I hope it does well for you.

    That’s what I was thinking too Kathleen. Promise to keep you all updated on the progress even if it fails. 😉

    Reply

  10. I grew my own pineapple once and it was the most delicious fruit I’ve ever had. Since it took three years to grow it I had a party and invited several friends over for the cutting. We each got to eat a slice of it.:-) We made a really big deal out of it.

    Wow I don’t blame you Randy, waiting 3 years was worth the celebration! 🙂

    Reply

  11. I used a slightly different method, but it worked like a charm: http://notsoangryredhead.blogspot.com/2009/07/pineapple-plant-experiment-worked.html

    Thanks for the link Angry Redhead. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

