Bloomin Tuesday

Well it’s the first Bloomin’ Tuesday of October.  Can you believe that another month has passed by so quickly?  Fall has arrived in Virginia with temps dropping to the 60’s and 70’s in the past week. 

From L-R: Zephyranthes candida, Belamcanda chinensis seedpods and Painted Lady Butterfly on Zinnia (with Anise Hyssop 'Sunset' and Salvia 'Mystic Spires')

Some surprises in the garden this week includes the Zephyranthes candida which is also called the Rain, Fairy or Zephyr Lily.  After a days of rain this pretty little bloomer has emerged and is full of buds.  It always blooms after a nice rainfall in the Fall.  The Belamcanda chinensis  ‘Hello Yellow’ is forming its’ berry looking seed pods now.  Hence the common name of Blackberry Lily.   If you want to see what they look like in bloom just look here.  I was quite happy to see this Painted Lady Butterfly visiting my garden this past weekend once the sun started shining again.  To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in this week please visit our host Jean @ Ms Greenthumb.

Another shot of the Fairy Lillies with a moth on one of the blooms.

note:  These photos were taken Saturday.  Sunday and Monday it rained all day again.  Which is great since we just overseeded the lawn this weekend.  But I’m missing the sunshine since it’s been so gloomy.  😦 

9 responses to this post.

  1. What a delicate little bloom….loving the cooler weather here!

    Thanks Darla it’s a cutie. Me too and soon the mums will be blooming! 🙂

    Reply

  2. I’ll see if I can send you some warm sunshine Racquel. We haven’t had rain in so long. Just about everything in my yard is dead.

    That would be nice Susie, the sun is finally out. But it is cool here today. Fall has arrived kicking & screaming! 😉

    Reply

  3. The seedpods were so interesting–and I loved seeing the butterfly. I went to a MG talk about monarchs–it was wonderful!!
    Wish I could send you some sun in exchange for rain. It is pretty here, but heating up again…

    Just adds another level of interest to them I agree. Thanks Linda, I wish I could send you some rain as well. It was sunny this afternoon finally but kind of cool. 🙂

    Reply

  4. I saw these rain lilies (pink color, too) while I was in Texas last month. I am glad to know they do well here, and need to try them. My garden looks ragged and worn at this time of year and these might just freshen it up.

    Yep there are pinks ones too. I love these so much that I’m going to add more this fall. It’s nice to have a plant that blooms in October. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Love your fairy lily–*clearly* I should get one–where did you buy yours?

    Thanks Monica, lol. I bought them from http://www.brentandbeckysbulbs.com

    Reply

  6. Your ‘rain lilies’ are really different from mine. Mine only bloom when it is warm and rainy. Interesting seed pods add so much to the fall garden. We’ve been cool and rainy for days but we also needed the rain. Jean

    Yep I’ve seen yours and these are so much smaller in comparison. These bloom in October which is nice since alot of stuff is long since done and the mums aren’t ready yet. We needed the rain too. I’m just glad to see the sunshine again after days of nothing but rain. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Those are so pretty! happy october

    Thanks Teresa and happy October to you too! 🙂

    Reply

  8. The rain lily has such pretty, delicate blooms. You certainly have gotten a lot of rain! It’s still bone dry here.

    My hubby said it almost doesn’t look real. Yep and I’m enjoying the sunshine we’ve been having since yesterday now. Hope you get some rain really soon!

    Reply

  9. Those rain lilies are awesome Racquel. I’ve never had any but you make me want them! Hope the sun is back by now ~ I know how you feel after a couple cloudy days.

    Thanks Kathleen. Yep the sun is back shining again 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

