Birthday Gifts

 

My birthday was this past Thursday and it was a week long celebration.  First off my Mom came to visit which was the best present ever.  My family gave me this beautiful fountain which I’ve placed in the Hosta Garden for now.

Plants shown are: Spiranthes cernua (Ladies Tresses), Thermopsis villosa (Caroline Bushpea), Vernonia noveboracensis (New York Ironweed) and Dryopteris marginalis (Leatherwood Fern)

Here’s the present my Mom got me when we visited the Native Plant Sale yesterday.  She kept saying she wanted to buy me something for my garden so this is what I picked out.  Afterwards we went inside the Museum where we saw exhibits that included native plants, wildlife and history.  We had a nice time this past week going to several tourist spots like Historic Hilton Village where we browsed the shops and had lunch.  We also enjoyed shopping for fruits and veggies at the local Farmer’s Markets.  She made some tasty dishes for us which the entire family appreciated.  🙂

14 responses to this post.

  1. Well, Happy Birthday to You!

    Thank you very much Les! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Love the fountain, Racquel! Sounds like you had a wonderful birthday.

    Thanks Rose, it was one of the best I’ve had in some years. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Well Happy belated Birthday! What a wonderful gift. The water fountain is so pretty. With the water moving all the time in the fountain it will sounds so good in your garden and the birds are going to love you. LOL!

    Thanks Lona! I’m quite pleased with my new gifts. The birds, bees & butterflies have all been buzzing the new water feature. 🙂

    Reply

  4. So glad you had a good birthday Racquel! LOVE your new fountain, it’s just beautiful. I think it would look great just about anywhere. Your Mom gave you some nice plants too. Happy Sunday and thanks for all your nice comments. 🙂

    Thanks Kathleen. It was a nice way to celebrate my birthday. You are quite welcome! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Well a very Happy Birthday to you! I’m so glad it was such an awesome celebration and here’s to many more. The fountain and plants are awesome.

    Thanks Tina, it was a great week all and all. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Wow! I love that fountain. What a great birthday present Racquel!

    Thanks Susie, my family did good huh? 🙂

    Reply

  7. You get the best gifts!!

    I am a lucky woman that’s for sure. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Great garden b’day presents. love the fountain!

    Thanks Deborah! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Happy Birthday Racquel…The fountain will be a beautiful accent to your garden. It’s really a pretty one.
    I hope that you and your Mom enjoyed your time together. Remembering her…I wasn’t surprised that you visited a farmer’s market. Glad you could enjoy her cooking too. Have a nice day…Balisha

    Thank you Balisha! We had a nice visit last week and she made it home safe & sound. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Those are some GREAT gifts! I love the fountain, so charming…and those are some choice plant picks!

    Thanks Scott, I was very pleased with my garden gifts this year. 🙂

    Reply

  11. What a wonderful birthday gift! I love the fountain and what fun picking out plants. Gardeners never have too many plants , I always like looking for something new and then finding just the right place for it.

    Thanks Sherry, I think the fountain was quite the hit. 🙂 I agree I can never have too many plants even though I might run out of room. lol

    Reply

  12. What nice presents! Happy birthday! Mine was the 17th. My gift was a new drive for my iphoto library.

    Thanks Sue and belated Happy Birthday wishes to you too! Sounds like you got a great gift as well. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Posted by skeeter on September 28, 2010 at 8:58 am

    Happy Birthday to you! What a wonderful birthday celebration. I enjoy taking an entire week to celebrate a birthday and you seem to have done just that. LOL You will have that beautiful fountain and plants to recapture this wonderful week with family for more birthdays to come…

    Thank you Skeeter! It was nice to be a bit spoiled for a week. 😉 Yep everytime I look at my garden I’ll remember this great week.

    Reply

  14. A week long birthday? WOW how cool is that. I love the above water feature. I have always enjoyed the sound of water trickling. Enjoy and may all your wishes come true.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

