Fall Activities

I’ve already started preparing for the next seaon in the garden.  Some of the activities I’ve completed include cutting back and thinning out the Obedient Plant in my red washtub.  I do this every year and then plant Pansies which will last until next May when the heat sets in again.  Another thing I’ve been doing is ordering bulbs that will be planted by mid November.  When I was at Lowe’s a week or so ago I picked up some Allium bulbs. 

I loved the name they gave this pairing of  Nigrum and Atropurpureum alliums.   Of couse I was a bit hungry at the time of purchase so maybe the idea of Raspberry & Creme attracted my tastebuds.  😉  Won’t they make a pretty combination in the garden next year?  In addition while at Wally World the other day I also picked up some Narcissus ‘Ice Follies’ for a bargain price of $3.00 for eight bulbs.  You can never have too many Daffodils in my opinion. 

note: My Mom is coming into town tonight and will be visiting for the week.  I won’t be posting so that I can enjoy her visit.  Have a nice week everyone,  catch you all later.  🙂 

10 responses to this post.

  1. I do like that combination.

    Enjoy your mother’s visit!

    Thanks Sue!

    Reply

  2. So nice to get to plan for fall isn’t it? Guess I say that each season though! 🙂
    Hope you enjoy your mom’s visit!

    Yep and it will be all worth it come next spring! Thanks Linda. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I can’t believe you planted pansies already. It’s still too hot here.

    Hope you enjoy your visit with your mom.

    I always plant my Pansies in September. Thanks Susie. 🙂

    Reply

  4. I just bought my pansies too!

    I should of probably waited until October, it’s been so hot here.

    Reply

  5. Other than buying and ordering some bulbs, I haven’t done any fall work at all–you are way ahead of me! That is such a pretty combination of alliums; they should look lovely in your garden. I fall for all the appealing food names, too, in plants:) Have a great time with your Mom!


    I’ve done a bit but not much. Won’t be planting these bulbs until October. Too hot here still. Thanks Rose, we had a nice visit. 🙂

    Reply

  6. You are so good to work ahead, I always seem to forget about bulbs until too late! I was lucky this year, and even though I left some allium bulbs in my office all winter, after planting them in the spring they still grew and bloomed! I love that allium combo, I’ll have to see if our local Lowes has the same one!

    Thanks Scott, but I procrastinate alot too. 😉 I’m good about ordering bulbs but end of waiting until the last minute to plant them. lol Alliums are great, so easy and forgiving. Hope your Lowe’s had the same combo pack too.

    Reply

  7. Please say Hi to your Mom. Tell her that I miss her wonderful recipes. Those alliums look wonderful to me…such a pretty combo. Have a wonderful visit.
    Balisha

    I did Balisha and she said thank you. 🙂 We had a wonderful visit, thanks for stopping by.

    Reply

  8. Hey Racquel! Hope you have a wonderful Happy Birthday tomorrow!!!

    Thank you so much Susie for the B-Day wishes, it was a great day! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Those Alliums look great and sound just as yummy! I hope they do well for you. Your beauty berry in the previous post looks pretty too. I’ve never had one but I keep thinking where I could put one.
    Hope you enjoy your visit with your Mom and did I see it was your birthday?? If so, happy, happy day to you!

    Thanks Kathleen, they do have a delicious name huh? 😉 I realize now I might not have given my Beauty Bush enough space to grow and spread. Hmm… lol Had a wonderful visit with my Mom, thanks for the b-day wishes too!!! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Hope you are having a very happy birthday celebrating with your mom, Racquel!

    Thanks Rose, we had a wonderful visit and my b-day was great! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

