Bloomin Tuesday

This week I have just a few new things to share with you for Bloomin’ Tuesday.   The garden is starting to wind down a bit.  I’m looking forward to cooler tempsl.  🙂

(From upper L-R across & down: Shasta Daisies, Rosa 'Glowing Peace', Rosa 'Peace' and Snapdragons)

The Roses are pushing out some straggler blooms.  I think they are appreciating the cooler temps in the morning and evening this month.  I was surprised to see my Shasta Daisies blooming again.  These Snapdragons were planted in a large container last fall and have survived.  They bloomed this past spring and are starting a second flush this month.  I’m curious if they will overwinter again.  To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in this week on the fun  please visit our gracious host Jean @  Ms Greenthumb.

15 responses to this post.

  1. How cool that your daisies are blooming again! I have some snapdragons that came back a second season and are still blooming, too. I hope yours come back again next year.

    Yep I was surprised to see them reblooming too Sue. I would be thrilled if my Snaps lasted another season in that pot. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  2. It’s so pretty to see some floral color especially as the season winds down. Especially lovin’ the snapdragons!

    Thanks Rowena, the season is winding down pretty quickly. Soon we can all take a break. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I’m definitely looking forward to the cooler temps also! Nice blooms!

    Yep we deserve after this past summer huh? Thanks Dave! 🙂

    Reply

  4. I planted my tall snapdragons last fall and they’re hanging on. They seem to have perked up a little with the cooler night temps. I’m hoping to nurse them through to next spring. I’ve had them last as long as two years before. The small snaps in a container are also reblooming now.
    I love the quote in your header!

    These are the tall type too and I was surprised they overwintered in this pot. When they quit blooming this past spring I just cut them back a bit and they perked back up quickly. Hope both of ours make it through another winter. Thanks that is my favorite quote of all time. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Posted by skeeter on September 14, 2010 at 10:09 am

    Nice surprise on your daisy giving you a late show! I too am enjoying the cooler temps, well not so cooler temps during the day (low 90’s) but with lack of humidity, the 90’s feel great!

    My favorite annual in the garden is definitely Vinca! A happy easy to care for profuse bloomer until frost!

    Yep it’s actually quite pleasant in the morning and evening hours, but hot during the day here still. Vinca is definitely a carefree bloomer in my garden too. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I’ve always wondered how snapdragons got their name. They look so pretty, hardly dragon-ish!
    Cooler temperatures sound really good to me as I’m bracing myself for the October heat. Lucky you!

    Their flower is shaped like a mouth that snaps open and close. 🙂 We use to be quite amused by them when I was a child. 😉 October heat huh? Yep I’m glad fall is on the way here.

    Reply

  7. The Daisies are so sweet. Never had much luck with Snapdragons.
    Wanted to get out today but it’s a little too hot in the sun right now for the chores.

    Thanks Patsi. I was surprised these did so well and in a pot too. It’s hot here also, I did my chores early this morning. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Your roses are still so lovely! Thanks for sharing, Paula from idaho

    Thanks Paula, they are a bit puny this year. Must of been all that heat. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Yay for cooler temps! Looks like your garden is appreciating the respite…those snapdragons are darling!

    Yep in the morning and evening. Still hot here during the bulk of the day though… Thanks Scott. 🙂

    Reply

  10. I laughed when I read “starting to wind down..” as I feel like I am starting to wind down a bit too-along with the gardens. What a summer we have been through! Your blooms are really pretty Racquel!

    Yep me too Linda, lol. It was one strange summer, too hot, too dry, just too extreme. 😉

    Reply

  11. Your yellow rose is beautiful! I’m also ‘winding down”!LOL! Do you have plants that bloom all winter there. Good selection still blooming. Jean

    Thanks Jean. Yep it will nice to get a break so I can prepare for next spring. The Pansies I plant in September will bloom right up till next May. But no most things go dormant until at least February. 🙂

    Reply

  12. I have never had Shastas rebloom, but I have read that they do. Now you proved it to me! Beautiful roses, too.

    I’ve had sporatic blooms through the years during summer but not like this. Thanks Zoey. 🙂

    Reply

  13. It reminds me of my garden, somethings are getting a second wind, while others are just plain tired.

    Yep, that’s a good way to explain it Les. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Posted by Bonnie on September 15, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    What fun to still see all this color.

    I’m glad you enjoyed it Bonnie! 🙂

    Reply

  15. I like how you named each plant in your collage. I have a few straglers also giving one or two last blossoms for the year. I did a collage but did not name the plants in my pictures. Oh well, I guess most of you gardeners know more than I do about what is what.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

