Colorful Calibrachoa

 

 A couple of weeks ago I bought my Grandmother this hanging pot of purple and hot pink Calibrachoas.  These tiny petunia like blooms really do well in the ground or draping over the side of containers.  She loves the way they complement her red metal birdhouse on the double shepherds hook.   Hopefully these will continue to do well right up till our first heavy frost in November.  Last summer I planted the Proven Winner’s variety ‘Saffron’ and it was a prolific bloomer.  Now I need to add these great annuals to my must add list next summer.  Here’s a list of some other annuals that I love:

  • Vinca – they come in a variety of pink tones as well as red and white, they do great in sun or shade
  • Angelina – shade of purple as well as white, they look great in the ground or containers
  • Zinnias – they come in a variety of colors, shapes and sizes and attract butterflies
  • Cosmos – from pink to orange, the palette is amazing.  Great filler plant in the garden.
  • Sweet Alyssum – white is my favorite but they do come in purple as well.  Good container filler plant.

All of these other than the Angelina I have found to be very easy to grow from seed.  Just direct sow the seed in the spring after your last frost date and water.   Angelina is easy to find in nurseries and big box stores around here so I just pick up a few every May to add spots of color to the perennial beds.   What are some of your favorite annuals?

7 responses to this post.

  1. What a healthy plant for September, Racquel! How thoughtful … your Grandmother must be delighted.

    Thanks Joey. She was thrilled to say the least. 🙂

    Reply

  2. So pretty! Purple and hot pink looks really eye-catching. I love Vincas, Zinnias and Cosmos too but I dont think I’ve seen the other two around here.

    Thanks Sunita, yep I was pleased with this color combo too. Good to know we have similar annuals that work well in our areas. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I really like this plant. It just looks happy. Have you seen the double blooming pink calibrachoa? It’s really pretty.

    Me too Susie, and so much easier to grow than Petunias. Nope I haven’t seen the double pink, that sounds really pretty. I’ll have to check that one out. 🙂

    Reply

  4. I want to try the purple alyssum next year as the white was fabulous until just recently. This is my first year with it, so I didn’t know what to expect.

    The million bells always look great everywhere I’ve seen them, but I’ve not tried those.

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    I’ve tried the purple in the past and it doesn’t get as full as the white from my experience. I know it doesn’t like the heat, but in pots where it can be kept moist or in part sun it works great. Million bells work great as a ground cover or in containers. You’ll have to try them. Have a great rest of your w/end Cameron. It’s raining here! Yay! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Add begonias to that list Racquel and you have my favorites!

    Cool we have similar tastes Linda! 🙂 I’m not crazy for begonias myself but they do well in shady spots. I would prefer Impatiens instead.

    Reply

  6. Very nice basket. I got luck with some pink and yellow moss rose this summer. They seem to think this crazy weather is just perfect.

    Thanks Deb. They really do well in the heat with that fleshy foliage. Kind of like succulants. 🙂

    Reply

  7. I do love callibrachoas, but mine have not fared so well this summer. I don’t think they like the heat as well or maybe I just didn’t water them enough. This basket is lovely; the red and purple combination is really an eye-catcher. Zinnias and cosmos are two of my favorite annuals, too; another is ‘Victoria Blue’ salvia, which I plant every year. But the winner for me this year has to be my lantana–it took the heat and drought like a trooper.

    Really? It was a beast of a summer across the country. Thanks Rose, I was surprised at how much I liked this vibrant color combo myself. Oh yeah Lantana is a real heat lover. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

