Just Because…

God loved the flowers and invented soil.  Man loved the flowers and invented vases.  ~Variation of a saying by Jacques Deval (God loved the birds and invented trees. Man loved the birds and invented cages.)

My hubby brought me this beautiful bouquet of flowers a couple of days ago just because.  So sweet don’t you think? 🙂  I love the combo of Chrysanthemums, Alstroemeria (Peruvian Lily), Limonium (Statice) and a Asiatic hybrid Lily.   There is also a couple of red Carnations which I don’t think quite work with the other colors.    

 We’re getting prepared for ‘Hurricane Earl’ as I prepare this post in advance.   Hopefully we come come through it safe and sound.  We could use the rain, but I’m dreading the winds.   I’ll keep you all updated when it’s all said and done.  Hope everyone has a nice weekend!

Update:  We’ve been very lucky, we are just getting tropical storm type conditions.  A little rain, some mild wind and that’s it.  Whew!

13 responses to this post.

  1. They’re beautiful, and your hubby is such a thoughtful man. Keep safe as Earl bears down!

    Thanks Rowena, he is pretty sweet sometimes. 😉 It’s over now thanks.

    Reply

  2. Very thoughtful indeed…been thinking about all of ya’ll and Earl…be safe!

    Yep he’s a sweetie. Thanks Darla, we made it through unscathed. 🙂

    Reply

  3. What a thoughtful hubby! Very nice.

    Hope Hurricane Earl passes you by without any damage. Hatteras Village has 2 feet of water this morning and the Frisco pier was mostly destroyed — but otherwise, I don’t think much damage was serious. We didn’t get a drop of rain from it this far inland. Could have been worse as 145 mph winds looked big and bad until the last minute last night when it turned north!

    Thanks Cameron. 🙂 We were very lucky in Hampton Roads, got some rain for awhile and a few minor gusts of wind.

    Reply

  4. I was wondering if the hurricane was going to get close to you. So glad it isn’t anything too dangerous.

    Love the bouquet. That was sweet of your honey.

    Have a great weekend!

    We were very lucky this time. Thanks Susie. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Good luck weathering the storm! Hopefully you all will make it through without incident!

    We are safe & sound Dave. Thanks for the concern. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I wish we had gotten just a little more rain than we did.

    Yep me too Les, it would of been much appreciated. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Tell your husband I said “way to go!” Good luck with the hurricane.

    Thanks Jeff, I’ll let him know. 😉

    Reply

  8. Good husband!

    Yep he’s a keeper. 😉

    Reply

  9. Your husband is so good to give you this gorgeous bouquet. I hope Hurricane Earl heads out to sea, and I prayed that it will veer out to sea. Stay safe and dry.

    Thanks Terra for the nice compliment for my hubby and the good wishes. We were very fortunate with Earl. He didn’t give us any trouble. 😉

    Reply

  10. How sweet of your Hubby! “Just Because” bouquets are the best kind because they are so unexpected. Glad to hear that Earl lost its bluster before it got to your area.

    Thanks Rose! He has his moments. 😉 Yep I was happily surprised to get my ‘Just Because…’ bouquet. Yep Earl didn’t cause us any problems, we are very fortunate.

    Reply

  11. What a sweet hubby! Those are indeed beautiful flowers.
    Glad you are ok and didn’t get any damage from Earl.

    Thanks Linda. He’s a keeper that’s for sure. 😉 Yep me too, it could of been really bad.

    Reply

  12. What a nice guy. He picked a great bouquet for you too ~ so bright, cheery and colorful. Glad you got a reprieve from Earl. I was watching closely where he was going because of my relatives in Maryland & S. Carolina.

    Thanks Kathleen, he did make a beautiful choice. 🙂 Me too, it could of been so much worst. Hope your relatives were spared as well.

    Reply

  13. Awww… so sweet of your dear hubby to give you flowers just because. I wish my DH would add “just because” in his vocabulary too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

