Bloomin Tuesday

 It’s the last Bloomin’ Tuesday for August.  Wow this summer went by fast.  This week I have some late season bloomers to share with you.  

From upper L-R across and down: Background photo of 'Sweet Autumn' Clematis, Hosta 'Royal Standard', Closeup of 'Sweet Autumn' Clematis blooms and Vitex agnus-castus 'Rosea'

 The background of this collage is a full view of my ‘Sweet Autumn’ Clematis in full bloom.  It’s situated in the corner of the Arbor Garden on two trellises and drapes over the fence like a curtain.   Early in the morning the fragrance is sweet just as the name implies without being overpowering.   My ‘Royal Standard’ Hostas are just starting to bloom right now.  They have a wonderful scent and the flowers are large with a tinge of lavender on their white faces.  Imagine my happiness when this Chaste Tree (Vitex agnus-castus) started blooming its’ first season.   I expected iridescent blue flowers and was surprised to see Rosey pink ones instead.  This tree also flowers in a white form called ‘Alba’.   It will be finding a new home in the garden this fall.  Probably out front where it can get full sun and ample space to mature.  I’m going to create an island bed around it so I can underplant with seasonal annuals for a pretty combo.  To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in on the fun this week please visit our gracious host Jean @ Ms Greenthumb.

10 responses to this post.

  1. I’ve been waiting to see this Clematis! I will have one, one day! Creating another flower bed, oh, a gardener’s work is never done…

    It’s a fall favorite in my garden Darla. Make sure whereever you place it when you get one is sturdy. It gets quite heavy. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Beautiful Clematis! Our chaste trees have put on another flush of blooms. I’ve vowed not to expand my garden after this summer’s heat. I did have to go out and make and emergency purchase of more milkweed to feed the hungry Monarch caterpillars — but those will go into the existing garden.

    Watching Hurricane Earl’s path. It will be 99 here today.

    Thanks Cameron. I know what you mean about the expansion, but I need a spot for this tree. My post this Wednesday shows the benefit of extra Butterfly weed added to my garden. 🙂

    I’m watching the weather channel this morning. I’m hoping Earl doesn’t hit us.

    Reply

  3. So happy to see your ‘Sweet Autumn’ in full bloom, Racquel! I still haven’t had any success starting one here. But after reading about a few others’ experiences with this plant, I want to make sure that I find the right place for it first so it can’t “escape.”

    Glad you enjoyed the blooms Rose, sorry you didn’t have luck with starting one. They self-sow all over the place here. Yep you need a nice sturdy structure for this beast to grow on. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Is that clematis in shade or sun Racquel? I love it and have such a big fence.

    It gets quite a bit of sun Susie. Just keep the roots cool with a 1-2″ layer of mulch. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Posted by Bonnie on August 31, 2010 at 9:30 am

    What a wonderful mosaic.

    Thank you Bonnie! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Ahh…a Rhapsody in White! I can practically smell the Sweet Autumn Clematis from here!

    Yep and it smells so sweet. 🙂

    Reply

  7. I can almost smell that clematis!! Yum!!

    It’s such a nice smell too. 🙂

    Reply

  8. I was at my parent’s house last week and noticed their Sweet Autumn was about to eat the shed. It was lovely.

    It really is a vigorous climber that’s for sure. I give mine 2-3 severe haircuts every spring right up till July. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Very nice shots. So frilly and delicate!

    Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed the pics today. 🙂

    Reply

  10. I have Royal Standard, but I don’t think it bloomed this year. Anyway, nice photos.

    I only got 3 stems this year out of 7 or 8 plants. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

