The star of my garden

Hydrangea paniculata 'Limelight' 8/20/10

This is a plant I rave about every summer when it blooms.  The praise is well deserved in my opinion.  He is the star of the Hydrangea bed even though I’m quite fond of the others as well.   The blooms just keep more interesting with age too.  They start out a green tone which turns to cream and then gradually a mauve tone come fall.   Even the dried brown blossoms in the winter are appealing.

Hydrangea 'Limelight' bloom 8-20-10

Right now they’re in the creamy white stage of the bloom.  They almost glow in the early morning hours with the sunlight dancing on them.  At dusk this color is like a natural nightlight.  I know that several garden bloggers have added this Proven Winners Hydrangea to their own gardens since I posted about mine.   Are you happy with it?

7 responses to this post.

  1. Oh yea, this is on my wish list for sure.

    Glad I could add to your wish list Darla, their fairly easy to find now too. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Racquel, I just planted two last year, so this is the first year they are flowering in my garden. I do not know if I got a mislabled variety, they are just settling in or what, but my blossoms are very small. We get them cut at work, and I know they can be huge, sometimes almost too big to use in a flower arrangement and we have to remove some of the florets. Hopefully, next year, mine will be better.

    Wow you got lucky to get blooms this season Deborah. I know some gardeners had to wait to the 2nd year to get any flowers. My blossoms are smaller this year due to the drought we experienced earlier this summer. I’m sure next year they will be bigger & better. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I am glad you posted this because I plan to purchase as many of three of these this fall. It looks to be tree form, our did you train it to be that way?

    Good for you Jeff! You won’t be sorry, if I had more room for more I would add them. I actually trained this one into a tree form, quite easy. As it gets bigger I just trim out the bottom branches and shape it. Now I still have to do some cleanup every spring since it blooms off new wood and I get suckers down lower. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Stunning! It looks great they way you have it limbed up.

    Thanks Tina, I love this look better than a large shrub since I can pack more plants into this space. 😉

    Reply

  5. I’ve been very tempted to pick one of these up! I need to restrain myself – no place to plant it. YET!

    You should get one as soon as you have the spot picked out for it Dave. It will take a bit more sun than the traditional mopheads & lacecaps. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I knew before I even saw the photo what your star would be, Racquel:) I love ‘Limelight,’ too, and have been so pleased with mine. But I want mine to look just like yours–I pruned some of the lower branches this spring to train it into more of a tree shape like this, but I couldn’t bring myself to cut too much back. I’m going to remember your photo as inspiration and next spring give mine a more severe haircut.

    Ha, I knew some of you would know what plant I was talking about today Rose. 😉 Glad to hear you are happy with yours as well. Don’t worry about being too heavy handed next spring since it blooms off new wood. Glad I could inspire you! 🙂

    Reply

  7. I agree with you–that plant is definetly a star! How beautiful. I have really enjoyed the pictures and watching it grow from year to year. It looks very happy in your yard!

    Thanks Linda, I’m glad you enjoyed watching it grow as much as I have enjoyed sharing with all of you. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

