Raining Cats and Dogs

Today Hampton Roads got a major thunder storm which brought down almost 2″ of rain in a short amount of time.  All 6 of my rainbarrels are full again which is great since I was down to only one full one.  Parts of my yard were flooded from the hard downpour.  My hubby who works on the other side of the water had a terrible time trying to get to the interstate to come home.  The area where he works easily floods and some streets were closed because of this.  It wasn’t hard to convince the cat to come indoors and stay that’s for sure.  I’m so happy to finally get a substantial rainfall since it’s been so hot lately.  Maybe it will cool things off a bit instead of making things humid.  🙂

note:  Looks like we are for in more storms and rain this evening.  Oops guess I jumped the gun, it’s not over yet.

8 responses to this post.

  1. OMG what weather!

    Yep it was pretty bad there for a bit.

    Reply

  2. That’s quite some rain 😮 but sounds like you needed it.

    We sure did need it and I’m not complaining either. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I’d love some of this rain, but not that much at one time! I hope you get some more rain, but in moderation.

    How nice to find the passalong sedum. I often have plants growing up that I have completely forgotten I planted; they’re always a nice surprise. You asked about my lantana, Racquel. All our lantanas are annuals–I don’t think there’s a perennial that is hardy here–so I buy new seedlings every year. They come in so many gorgeous colors these days that I have a hard time choosing among them.

    I was grateful to find get a substantial amount and glad my barrels are full again. 🙂 Yep it was a nice surprise when I found this forgotten pass-a-long. That’s what I was thinking about your Lantanas. I might have to plant some of those less hardy types next spring. They use them here in curb plantings and wow such tough plants.

    Reply

  4. Wonderful, wasn’t it!!!

    It was so great Les! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Wow, that is a lot of rain! I am so impressed that you have 6 rain barrels. Awesome.

    Yep and so happy to have full barrels again. Yep I have 2 store bought ones and my handy hubby made the other 4. 😉

    Reply

  6. Glad you are getting rain.I haven’t seen any this hard but we too are getting the wonderful stuff.

    Thanks Susie, me too. Glad to hear you are too! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Wow. I love when it pours like that. Seldom does here tho. Glad you are getting some much needed moisture Racquel. I hope it does give you some relief from the heat too. It’s awesome you have so many rain barrels!

    Me too Kathleen, it’s great napping weather. 😉 It really cooled things off here today. Yep my handy hubby made four of them.

    Reply

  8. Wow! We get a lot of rain here but rarely comes down that much at one time. Rain barrels have been something I wanted to look in to but we haven’t gotten to it.

    It must be nice to get alot rain Sherry. Our wet months are usually in the winter and early spring. With the rain you get they would be a great investment. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

