A forgotten pass-a-long

 

Unknown Sedum

 The weekend before last, when I was taking photos of my  Sedum ‘Rosy Glow’,  I spotted this unknown Sedum hiding.  For the life of me I was trying to figure out how it got there and then I remembered it was a pass-a-long cutting.  My hubby’s co-worker is a gardener like me and we share stuff occasionally.  For example when I have extra produce that we won’t eat I have hubby take it to work to share.  We’ve also shared seeds from flowers and veggies in the past.  Anyhow, last summer he gave me a cutting of this sedum.   At the time I didn’t know where I wanted to plant it so I just stuck it in the ground in my Arbor Garden.  Because it’s herbaceous I forgot all about it until I spotted it the other day hidden amongst the bluish green foliage of my other Sedum.  The bright green leaves kind of make it stand out a bit don’t you think?  Maybe once it blooms I’ll be able to id it since he didn’t know.   Sometimes he stops by to read my blog posts.   If not I might have to email him a photo so he can see it survived.  🙂

7 responses to this post.

  1. It is a pleasure to find a forgotten treasure in the garden, instead of just spotting a giant weed that you hadn’t noticed.

    So true Deborah, so true. 😉

    Reply

  2. Is it Autumn Joy Sedum?

    You are probably correct Darla. 🙂

    Reply

  3. It looks like it is happy in your garden.

    Yep it’s hard to kill a sedum (even in my garden) 😉

    Reply

  4. Nice surprise for you. I agree with Darla. I think it is Autumn Joy. It looks like one I have.

    That was what I suspected when he gave me the cutting. Thanks Susie. 🙂

    Reply

  5. I love, love sedums! What a great pass-along plant!

    Thanks Linda, their a super easy plant to grow. 🙂

    Reply

  6. so fun to find these “surprises” and then remember who they came from. Autumn Joy is a great color!

    I agree, I’ve been fortunate to have many generous gardeners contribute to my garden over the years. 🙂

    Reply

  7. I just love sedums, any and all. They do sort of get passed along, esp. the creeping kind. 🙂

    Me too Monica, they really stand up to the heat and drought too. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

