‘Pinky Winky’ not so Pinky

Hydrangea paniculata 'Pinky Winky'

This will be the second full season in the garden for my Hydrangea ‘Pinky Winky’ and I’m finally getting some signs of bloomage! But what is this…. that doesn’t look so pink to me.Β  Hey maybe one of you other bloggers out there who already have this blooming in their garden can tell me if this is normally how it starts out.Β  Like maybe Joy or Anna, cough-cough? πŸ™‚Β 

Here’s some info on this wonderful selection from Proven Winners:

  • Introduced in 2004
  • Height 6-8 feet
  • Needs a space of 4-6 ft
  • Hardy in zones 3b-8b
  • Sun – Partial Shade
  • Foliage is deciduous
  • Average water needs
  • Flowers can be dried
  • Propogate from softwood cuttings
  • Does not set seed, sterile
  • Soil acidic-neutral
  • Parts of plant are poisonous if ingested
  • Blooms on new wood
15 responses to this post.

  1. I’m sure I don’t know….hope it does turn pink for you.

    Thanks Darla, I hope so too. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. My experience with some of the newer H. paniculatas that are supposed to be pink, is that photoshop was used to take the promotional picture. I think it is also an age thing where they start out white, but age to pink.

    Thanks for the info Les, I was wondering about the photo being too good to be true. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Don’t know, but hope it turns pink for you.

    Thanks Cameron, me too! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. Maybe it will turn pink as it matures.

    That’s what Les thinks too Susie. Hope so. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Looks like a lace cap I have.
    Oh ,what do I know….have a mop head for 5 years now and moved it twice…still won’t bloom.

    Really, the blooms are more conical in shape then a Lacecap, but the initial flowers are similar you’re right. Mopheads in my experience are a pain in the butt. I prefer the Paniculatas. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. I don’t have a ‘Pinky Winky,’ but I’m pretty sure they start out with white blooms that turn pink with time. I’ve been wanting one of these for a few years, but I wound up buying ‘Pink Diamond’ a few weeks ago instead. But I planted it during one of our many hot, hot weeks, and it promptly died! I was sick about it, but the nursery assured me it might come back with some TLC; if not, it is guaranteed–I think I’m going to replace it no matter what. Your ‘Pinky Winky’ looks so healthy with all those gorgeous green leaves.

    Thanks for that bit of info Rose. It’s a whole new game for me with this one. I looked at getting ‘Pink Diamond’ and ‘Quick Fire’ for my garden. I’m just running out of space for these large shrubs or small trees. Well at least if yours doesn’t bounce back they’ll replace it. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  7. I agree with Les, I think it is supposed to turn a more pink color than most paniculatas.

    Thanks Tina, hope you and Les are right. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  8. I have three and love them. Yes, they start out white with a very cool elongated bloom. Mine are blooming a lot right now but that is because the plant is mature. They get more and more blooms each year. The blooms are never as pink as the pictures in my opinion but I thought it might be my heat and humidity.

    By September/October they are a deeper pink at the base of each petal and then turn whiteish pink at the tip.

    It will be interesting to see what Joy says cause she has a much cooler climate–although this year it’s been hot where she lives.

    My experience with all Proven Winners Plants’ pink varieties( including petunias etc)–they will not get as dark or vibrant in our heat but they do grow as vigorously. I still choose them over other brands.

    Hi Anna, thanks for stopping by this morning and sharing this info with me. I’ll be by shortly to visit your blog. Sorry I haven’t visited in a while. I’m really excited since our zones are quite similar to see how well mine does now. I’ll buzz by Joy’s blog and ask her to take a look. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  9. I see you got an answer to your question. I was curious to know if it would change, too. I just have ‘Pia’ and don’t even know if it’s a mophead or the other kind. I’ll have to look that up. Now that my ‘Pia’, a short one, bloomed well this year, I may try another, if I can find a spot for it.

    Yep looks like Anna was able to answer my question. I knew her or Joy would know if this was the norm. ‘Pia’ is considered a mophead type. Hope that helps. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. Posted by Yolanda on August 11, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    Good afternoon. I have three Pinky’s , this is their second season. They start off pink and transition to pink. I love them, they are very similar to Vanilla Strawberry which I have two of. The Vanilla Strawberry are new to me this season and they are wasting no time catching up to the Pinky’s in my Zone 5b garden.

    Thanks for that info Yolanda, did you mean they start off white and transition to pink? I’ve never heard of Vanilla Strawberry. Just googled it and wow so pretty. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  11. So pleased you got an answer. Sounds like a great plant.

    Thanks Greenearth, me too. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  12. Sounds like you have your answer. I’m just jealous you have hydrangea blooms of any color! None here this year. 😦

    Guess so Kathleen, I was hoping Joy would stop by and give me her opinion as well. She might yet. Sorry about your lack of Hydrangea blooms this year.

    Reply

  13. My guess was that they start off white and go to pink..and looks like that is the answer you got. I had tulips that started off one color and changed to another. So very interesting….

    Great guess Linda, I was wondering the same thing and looks like we were both right. πŸ™‚ That sounds like an interesting tulip, love it when plants do that. My Clematis ‘Niobe’ is a great example of that.

    Reply

  14. I have hydrangeas that went from pink to white when the weather turned 100F. I’m hoping they go back as it cools down in the early fall. Despite not getting a ton of water this year, they’re doing remarkable well. Have them kind of in the evening shadows a bit. Maybe that’s why they’ve done so well.

    Hmm..that’s interesting. I didn’t realize they would do that in extreme heat. My paniculatas and my one oakleaf have held up well this summer. The mopheads & lacecap not so much. They get the droops. Mine get morning sunlight only, but when it’s 80 degrees at 8 am what can you do!

    Reply

  15. Check the PH level your hydrangea will range from White to Pink to Blue depending on the PH level.

    I know that is the case with the mophead and lacecaps, but not so with these hybrid paniculatas. They stay true to form. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

