Bloomin Tuesday

(From upper photo and down L-R: Knockout Roses, Gaura 'Pink Fountain' and Crepe Myrtle)

        For my Bloomin’ Tuesday post this week I thought I would share three plants that have been blooming all summer long so far.  They range from reddish pink to a pale pink.   They all have stood up to the heat, drought and now rainy weather we’ve been getting this year.  Knockout Roses are carefree, disease resistant and prolific bloomers.  You don’t even have to deadhead to keep the flowers coming all season long.   The Gaura was a new addition last fall and I’m loving how easy it is to keep it blooming.  I just deadhead the spent blooms and stems back and it sends out more in no time.  Crepe Myrtles should be the state tree for Virginia, they are everywhere and in full glory right now.   This one broke off at the rootball in 2004 during Hurricane Isabel.  It grew back quickly and is better than ever.   To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts this week or to join in on the fun please visit our host Ms Greenthumb.

15 responses to this post.

  1. It is almost a sin to live in Alabama and not have a crepe myrtle – I don’t have one which I hope to fix next season. Nice photos.

    I think that’s how it works here too Jeff. 😉 Yep with some of the new cultivars on the market, you must add one soon. Thanks!

    Reply

  2. My knock outs haven’t performed as well this year. Actually lots of peoples look the same. I think it was from this heatwave we’ve been experiencing. I actually cut back down to about 1-2 feet. They are now starting to look better.

    Really? Cause mine really performed this summer inspite of the heat. But I tend to cut mine down two or three times a year to keep them in check. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I love your beautiful pink blooms. They are gorgeous!

    Thanks Suzanne, I’m happy with these three plants even though pink isn’t one of my favorite colors. 🙂

    Reply

  4. I am still looking for ‘perfect’ Roses that is fragrant, resistant to black spot disease and is a colour I like. I have found two – more by luck than design. A third Rose is about to be dug up as the leaves are more black spotted than green!

    That’s why I love the knockout series, the fragrance is slight but the rest is great. Glad you found some good ones for your garden. 🙂

    Reply

  5. I have a knock out in a container that was looking great until our temps got so high. It’s in the hot afternoon sun–do you think that is too intense for it?
    Love all your pink blooms!

    Maybe you should give it some afternoon shade if possible. Plus containers dry out so much quicker than the ground. Thanks Linda. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Nice! I like the crape myrtle. It looks a lot like several we have.

    Yep this is a very common one here and it blooms all summer long which is great. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Racquel I so wish they could breed a knockout rose with tons of fragrance .. so many roses seem to have no scent at all even though they have other wonderful aspects .. I am always curious about crape myrtle it looks lovely !
    You have some wonderful plants gathered together for this post girl !
    Joy

    That would really be something that would make them perfect that’s for sure. Yep the Crepe Myrtle is a true southern belle. Thanks Joy. 🙂

    Reply

  8. very nice, love flowers with long bloom times!

    Thanks Shannon, they are winners for sure. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Nothing beats those hardy plants. Beautiful pictures of them. Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday! Jean

    Thanks Jean, I love plants that just keep blooming and blooming all summer long. 🙂

    Reply

  10. The Gaura is beautiful! I love hearing about hardy perennials!

    Thanks Alea, glad I could introduce you to another one. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Hi Racquel,
    Your obedient plant is the header looks much more full than mine. I think the garden I saw it in looked nice like yours so I ran right out and bought some. Unfortunately mine does not look as nice as all the others I see.

    It’s great to have flowers that bloom throughout the season. Love the colors!

    Hi Zoey, Thanks I’m very pleased with how great it is doing this summer. Mine is in a pot so if I forget to water it gets the droopies. 😦 Maybe after another season or two yours will get fuller too.

    Reply

  12. Posted by skeeter on August 10, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    Pretty in Pink they are to my eyes! Crepe Myrtles are a easy tree to grow and seem to come back strong no matter what is thrown their way. Glad your myrtle came back to stay…

    That’s my experience too Skeeter. Such a great plant no matter what. 🙂

    Reply

  13. I enjoyed your blooms. I don’t remember how long my gauras have been blooming, but not as long as yours. I forget to deadhead them. I’ll have to get to that. I’m glad that pretty crepe myrtle came back from being knocked down.

    Thanks Sue. Yep I forgot to deadhead mine once earlier this summer but when I did it made up for lost time fast. Me too, but hubby was bummed he hates it cause it makes a mess on the sidewalk, lol 🙂

    Reply

  14. I love that gaura….I’ve been meaning to plant some of those for a while and this makes me motivated!

    Well glad this post motivated you to pick up some of these great perennials. 🙂

    Reply

  15. You should start a movement to make it the state tree Racquel. I grew up there and I’m going to have to look up what tree that is! Isn’t that embarrassing? I’ve forgotten. Love all the pink blooms and that they’ve been blooming all summer, considering the heat you’ve had!

    Yep I need to look into that. Actually our state tree is the Dogwood. There are alot of them too, but I still prefer the Crepe Myrtle. Nope I had to look it up too, lol. Thanks Kathleen! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

