New Additions

Vitex agnus-castus or Chase Tree

Here’s an update on a couple of the new additions in my garden this year.  Earlier this summer I picked up a small seedling of a Chase Tree or Vitex agnus-castus.  It has taken off like a rocket this summer and will probably have to be transplanted from it’s large container into the garden this fall.  And look what I found forming, flower buds! 

Acer palmatum 'Sango Kaku' or Coral Bark Japanese Maple

My Coral Bark Japanese Maple was purchased at the same time as the Vitex and is doing well too.  It hasn’t  grown as quickly, but I’m pleased with the progress.  This one probably won’t be ready for the garden for a few years still.

Syringa Meyeri or Korean Lilac

I picked this new addition up just the other day at Lowe’s.  They were marking a bunch of their shrubs  50-75% off. And I couldn’t resist when they told me this would be marked down to $2.98 (originally $8.98).   What a bargain don’t you think?  Now I think I’ll wait until September to plant it.  I’m thinking of just the perfect place.  🙂

5 responses to this post.

  1. Those are nice additions!

    Thanks Meems. 🙂

    Reply

  2. The butterflies and bees will thank you for that chaste tree next summer! Nice choices.

    Sounds like a bonus to me Cameron. 🙂 Thanks.

    Reply

  3. Maybe I need to head on over to Lowe’s to see what’s on sale.

    We have several Vitex planted at work and the other day I found a baby growing. I dug it up and put it in a pot. I think it is finally doing good. Yippee!

    Sounds like a plan Susie, lol. How exciting, yay for you. It will grow quickly if mine is any example. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Ditto on what Susie said about heading over to Lowes. It is soooo hot here that I have not purchased anything in weeks. I have thought about buying a maple tree or two. Just might do it.

    Well have fun Jeff, hope you find some bargains. I know what you mean, I have not bought very much at all this year, it got hot too fast. 🙂

    Reply

  5. That Chase Tree looks great. I’m going to look it up. I’m not familiar with it. I always love when things “take off” in the garden tho! 🙂

    It’s a really cool tree that I’ve been wanting for about 5 years. A neighbor has one and I always admire it when we’re walking. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

