Rudbeckia laciniata

Last summer during one of our road trips,  Janet otherwise known as The Queen of Seaford shared some plants from her garden with me.  Two of these were her Green Coneflowers or Rudbeckia laciniata.  They are doing well and getting ready to start blooming.  Here’s some info on this interesting perennial:

  • Native perennial herb to Eastern North America
  • The species name laciniata refers to the divided leaves
  • Also called Tall Coneflower, Thimbleweed and Goldenglow (Janet called it Green Coneflower)
  • The young leaves are gathered in the spring for salads
  • Gets from 4-8 feet tall. 
  • Hardy from zone 3a – 9b
  • Grows in Sun to Partial Shade
  • Blooms mid-late summer
  • Attracts bees, butterflies and birds
  • Propogate by dividing the rootball or seed
  • Drought tolerant
13 responses to this post.

  1. Oooh, never seen that plant before. Looks interesting.

    Glad I could share something new with you then Meems. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I really like the green centre on it, a nice change from the dark.

    I like that part too Deborah, it’s a nice change indeed. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Very pretty! Such a super good plant and so nice of Janet to share.

    Yep I am so lucky to have met so many generous garden bloggers friends. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Okay, now I know the name of mine, thanks!

    Well that worked out well for you huh? lol YW! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Like the drought tolerant part – a handsome plant. Coneflowers are on my wish list for next season.

    Me too, always a major bonus with plants. Such a great family of plants. 🙂

    Reply

  6. That’s an interesting looking Rudbeckia. I don’t think we could ever have too many rudbeckias. They are so easy to take care of.

    Thanks Susie, yep I agree completely. They really are cool plants. 🙂

    Reply

  7. An interesting rudbeckia; I’ve never seen one of these before. I agree the green center is appealing.

    Aren’t they cool, I’m digging the cutleaf foliage and green cone. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Posted by skeeter on August 6, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    Attracts birds, bees and butterflies and drought tolerant? This is my kind of plant!

    Yep I love those kind of attributes in a plant too Skeeter. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Love this plant–love how all Rudbeckia and Echincaea have those tightly curled leaves before opening. Kind of look like those funky dahlias!

    Me too Monica, their buds are just as interesting as the actually flowers. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Rudbeckia is a great plant, I had never seen this one before, it is a unique flower and I love that it is drought tolerant, we tend to neglect the watering. I wrote the name down on my look for later plants.

    Yep this one caught my eye when I saw it, that’s why Janet shared some with me. Glad I could add to your wishlist. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I don’t know this plant! Looks lovely. I’ll have to learn more about it. The color looks like a nice yellow instead of bold gold.

    I’m really pleased with it so far Cameron, and you’re right the color is a nice tone that would work great with the purples in your garden. (hint-hint) 😉

    Reply

  12. Pretty flower. I like the yellow rays of sunshine coming off of it. I also like that it’s drought tolerant. Got to save water you know.

    Thanks, Timothy

    Thanks Timothy for stopping by today. Yep I love drought tolerant, saving water is a plus in this season. 🙂

    Reply

  13. I think I remember seeing this on her blog ~ weren’t there lots of goldfinches on it??? I am headed to the greenhouse today ~ I’ll see if they have any because I’d love to try it too. It is a terrific addition to your garden Racquel. Looks like it’s very happy.

    Yep the Goldfinches and Butterflies have been frequent visitors to this native plant. Thanks Kathleen, hope you find some. If not I’ll try to save you some seed from mine. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

