Oakleaf Hydrangea ‘Little Honey’

My newest Hydrangea is this dwarf Oakleaf variety called ‘Little Honey’.  I know I did a post about this earlier in the season, but I’m just so pleased with the progress this plant has made this year.  Last year after the first plant I ordered died, my first impression was not good to say the least.  But the mail order company replaced it free of charge and the second plant did okay and survived the winter.  This spring it started growing and has tripled in size.  You can see I planted it as a companion to the mophead hydrangea ‘Nikko Blue’ and I think they complement each other nicely.  Another asset I’ve discovered about this new addition is that the heat and lack of rain hasn’t bothered it in the least.  This is great considering ‘Nikko Blue’ and my unknown lacecap are really struggling this summer with weeks of temps over 90 and dry conditions.  Another shot I got was to show you the size of the leaves on ‘Little Honey’, that is my hand behind one to give you a true idea of the dimensions.  My hand from wrist to the tip of my middle finger is about 6 1/2 inches.  Here’s some more info on one of my favorite new additions to the garden:

  • foliage turns a nice shade of red in fall
  • white blossoms from summer thru fall
  • overall dimensions of 4′ x 4′
  • prefers partial shade/water as necessary
  • prefers well drained soil
  • sport of ‘Pee Wee’
  • cultivated by Brigg’s Nursery in Washington
  • US Plant Patent, PP# 15,477
  • may have to mail order
  • propogate from softwood cuttings
  • flower heads are sterile (doesn’t set seed)
  • hardy in zones 5a-9b

note: all photos were taken at the end of June-beginning of July.  Nikko Blue’s flowers are fading from that pretty blue tone to a creamy color that will eventually turn to a rose hue in the fall.  I love to leave the flowers on to age naturally in the garden and add interest from early summer through the winter months. 🙂

18 responses to this post.

  1. It is still beautiful. If you (and Teza) can get it through another winter, I will look for it next spring.

    I think it will survive another winter, especially since our past one was harsh which is not normal for us. 🙂

    Reply

    • Whats up very cool website!! Guy .. Excellent .. Superb .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds also…I am glad to find so many useful inooamrtifn here in the put up, we want develop extra techniques on this regard, thank you for sharing.

      Reply

  2. Stunning foliage color!

    Thanks Darla, it only gets better come fall too. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I was wondering how this cutie pie looked in a garden~That it shows heat resistance is a plus with this almost drought we’re in here in Nashville…gail

    It really has proven to be a hardy plant (heat or cold) so far in my garden. Yep since our winters are normally mild I was happy to see it survived the abundance of snow we had this past winter as well as this hotter than usual summer. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Very nice and great color. We have had high heat and very little rain here in Alabama and my Nikko Blue wilts on a almost daily basis. I am going to move it this fall. I’ll have to add Little Honey to my wish list.

    Thanks Jeff, it really is a vibrant shade that stands out in the shade. My Nikko Blue gets very dappled shade (morning light only) and still wilts daily. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    Reply

  5. I LOVE the new plant. I think I like it better than any hydrangea I have seen. And such good information about the Nikko Blue flowers. How very interesting. I just don’t have a place for hydrangeas, so I always enjoy seeing and hearing about yours!

    It really is a star in my garden this summer when most things are just looking blah. Glad you are able to enjoy mine even though you don’t have a place for them in your garden. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I didn’t know there was a dwarf Oakleaf — good to know! I have an Oakleaf in my shade bed on the side of our house and am IN LOVE with this plant. I love the foliage, the fall color, and the delicate blooms. Seriously, what is not to love about this plant?? I think everyone should have an Oakleaf in their garden. 🙂

    Yep this is a fairly new addition in the past 5 years I think. It’s only been available through mail order for the past couple of years. Their great plants, but I didn’t have room for the standard sized one so this was a great substitute. I agree, they are a wonderful addition and I’m happy to finally have one in my garden. 🙂

    Reply

  7. It looks so good! The one I purchased and put in last fall died:( Glad to see yours is doing much better.

    Well the first one I got died too, but luckily the second slip they sent was much healthier and survived. Thanks Tina. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Love that bright leaf color. I always leave the flowers on my hydrangeas to age. That is probably my favorite thing about hydrangeas, the blooms last so long.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie, it was a big selling point for me that vibrant shade of color. Me too, they are interesting as they age and add another point of interest to the garden as it changes. 🙂

    Reply

  9. The leaves look very attractive – and it is a plus that it shrugs off the hot weather and dry conditions. I might give it a go, especially as it does not grow too big.

    A big selling point indeed for this dwarf hydrangea. I hope you give it a try, let me know how it works in your area. 🙂

    Reply

  10. I love ‘Little Honey,’ and I completely agree with your assessment of its ability to weather drought and heat. I bought 2 more this spring, but am waiting until fall to put them in the ground. Even in black nursery pots, they are doing fine despite my erratic watering and temperatures in the 90s with no rain. It turns a gorgeous red in fall too. Unfortunately, the deer find it tasty in winter.

    Glad to see others are having some good results with this great little Hydrangea. Gives me hope that it will be a great addition for years to come. Yep I got an Abelia on the patio waiting to be planted until fall. That is good to know that they are surviving in those black nursery pots. Don’t have to deal with deer here fortunately. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I love the lime green color, am wondering how tall it will get. I do love oakleaf hydrangeas. When does it bloom?! 🙂

    Me to Monica! 🙂 It only gets about 3 feet tall and wide. Supposibly it blooms late summer through fall. I haven’t gotten any yet though.

    Reply

  12. What a pretty oakleaf hydrangea. I never knew about this type before. It’s cool looking.

    Thanks Meems, it is fairly new still. I think you can only get through mail-order at this point. 🙂

    Reply

  13. ‘Little Honey’ is a beauty Racquel. I love all the Oakleafs. I’ve had one for about six years so I know they are hardy if they can survive Colorado winters! I thought I had lost it earlier this year, and it did die back pretty severely, but it’s coming out now. Whew. No flowers this year, but hopefully next year. Glad you are having luck with yours.

    Me too Kathleen, but unfortunately most get too big for my garden so this was the perfect solution. They are real troopers that’s for sure, we had an unusually cold winter last year and a really hot & dry summer this year. If it can take those extremes it is an A+ plant in my books. No flowers on mine yet this summer either, but soon hopefully. 🙂

    Reply

  14. Nikko has never been my favorite blue, but seeing it here paired with Little Honey does each plant a world of good. I hope you got some of last night’s rain.

    Not one of my faves either Les, it’s too demanding as a plant in general. I’m not the type of gardener to baby a plant. 😉 They do complement each other nicely though… yep got alittle over 2″ of rain in a short amount of time yesterday. Hooray! Hope you got a good amount too.

    Reply

  15. I wanted one of these and looked all over last year. I’ve never mail ordered so I wasn’t sure who was trustworthy. Care to share where you got yours? Jean

    They don’t seem to be available yet in the local nurseries. Yep I ordered mine from http://www.bluestoneperennials.com They are quite good, when the first one didn’t survive they sent me a replacement no questions asked. 🙂

    Reply

  16. That’s lovely! I’ve been looking for an oakleaf hydrangea for my garden, and this post makes me think you may have discovered the right one for me!

    Well glad I could help you find the perfect Oakleaf for your garden. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by today Scott.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

