Bloomin Tuesday

I wasn’t sure if I would have anything to show you this week with the heatwave we had this weekend.  It was over 100 degrees and my garden was struggling even with me watering early in the morning. 

(From upper L-R across & down: Nasturium bud 'Peach Melba', Zinnia 'Oklahoma Series', Zinnia 'Profusion Series' and Sweet Alyssum)

I decided to zoom in these shots to show you every detail of my current new blooms.  The Nasturiums are starting to bud up, hooray! I haven’t had much luck with these annuals in the past couple of years.  Maybe they don’t like our hot summers.  This single Zinnia is a bit ragged but it was a volunteer from last year so I don’t care.  Yep I showed you my Profusion Series Zinnias before but they are in full glory right now so I had to show them off.  🙂  And I couldn’t imagine a container planting without Sweet Alyssum.  This one is growing with the Nasturium in a pot. 

Obedient Plant

The only new perennial blooms this week are coming from my Obedient Plant.  It is a really aggressive plant, but I contain mine in a large metal washtub.   Here’s a macro shot of it’s pretty little speckled face.  To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in this week please visit our gracious host Jean at Ms Greenthumb.

16 responses to this post.

  1. Hi Racquel,
    Thank you for visiting my garden! The cucs are growing up a “fence” that my hubby built in the bed. Those are stakes with metal “hardware cloth” attached. The holes in the fence are not as big as “hog wire”. This is it’s second year and it’s holding up well! Your flowers are looking good! I didn’t get much planted in the flower department this year….maybe next year!
    Enjoy your week!
    Sharon

    You are quite welcome Sharon, thanks for the info about the cuke fence. That’s a clever idea, they look pretty healthy & happy. Flowers aren’t doing well this year in my neck of the woods, too much heat and no rain. 😦

    Reply

  2. Nice. So that’s what the Obedient Plant will look like. Mine has buds but not blooms…

    Yep this is what you have to look forward to soon…. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Can’t believe you still have sweet alyssum blooming. Is that the variety that tolerates more heat?

    These are growing in containers which get more water than the garden itself, that could make a difference I guess. 😉

    Reply

  4. Ah, Obiedent plant is definitely aggressive in my garden. I have planted it in areas where nothing else likes to grow, to make use of that trait. I think the little flowers are quite pretty.

    I am also a big fan of Nasturiums, but am not growing any this year, so it’s nice to see yours. I hope you have good luck with them this year.

    That’s a good idea Zoey, aggressive plants will grow where nothing else will live. Likewise they will take over cultivated areas like it’s no tomorrow. The bees love these blooms, they crawl inside and swim in the pollen. I love Nasturiums too, but they really don’t do so well here. 😉

    Reply

  5. Your Profusion Zinnias are an inspiration! I can’t remember if you’ve said if you buy them as bedding plants or grow them from seeds. I’ve not tried those at this point, but I’d love to next summer.

    At least you have nasturtiums! This weather has been horrible and there are loses in my garden for sure, my poor little nasturtiums have never gotten beyond a few inches high.

    I wish my obedient plant would spread and bloom — the deer eat it. Mine is a variegated type and the foliage is lovely.

    Actually I grew these from seed this year Cameron. But in the past I have bought the plants themselves from the nursery. They are easy to grow from seed so I will save it again this year. Yep I think the heat is the culprit for the Nasturiums, maybe they would prefer the temps of our falls & springs? Mine spreads through underground runners rapidly, maybe the variegated type isn’t as aggressive. Never seen it before so I’ll have to look that up. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I love the little white zinnias, and obedient plants. Mine doesn’t quite have buds yet, but it’s close. It’s HUGE (aggressive is a good word, lol)–I meant to divide it last year and forgot. It’s cool how yours has tiny splotches of purple in the white–maybe I’ll have to look at mine more closely!

    Actually these zinnias start out a deep golden yellow and fade to a peachy shade as they age. Yep it is a thug for sure, but I love the blooms so I contain it to keep it in check. 🙂

    Reply

  7. I LOVE the obedient plant. Hooray for a fellow Virginian.

    Thanks Julie, nice to meet a fellow Virginia blogger! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Yea, this heat is really getting to everything isn’t it? Your blooms look great though. Don’t you just love profusions? They do so well here!
    Racquel, can you please tell me what kind of camera you use? My camera broke (lens cover) on our trip so I will need a new one. Your pictures are always so pretty–just wondered what you used. Thanks!

    Yep somethings are surviving this hellish summer and somethings no so much. Oh well, there’s aways next year. 🙂 I love the profusions, they don’t seem to mind our weather as long as I keep the pot their in moist. Sure I just bought my camera last year when my son dropped my old one with the lens open, oops! I love the Nikon Coolpix series. This one is an upgrade from the basic one I had before, it’s a Coolpix S570. Thanks for the kind comments about my photos! You are so sweet. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Your little freckled faced obedient plant is so pretty. I’ve debated with myself for a couple years about planting obedient plants. Think I’ll wait until I have a good spot where they can be controlled. Right now don’t feel like battling anymore fast spreaders. Your zinnia looks lavender, or is it more pink? I have some pinks that are really nice this year and some yellows.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie, I forgot how pretty their faces were till I took this macro shot. 🙂 They do well in large containers too, which is where mine lives year round. When it dies back in the fall I dig up some of the excess and throw it away. And then I plant Pansies for color that will last until the following May. 🙂

    Reply

  10. I love viewing close up shots of flowers and I guess the extreme heat providesthe perfect reason to do so! I am intrigued by the obediant plant; it is so lovely! And plants that are considered out of control in other locations have a better chance of surviving here in the Sierra Nevada foothills.

    This way I don’t have to share how worn out the rest of the garden looks either, lol. Yep in milder climates some plants can be quite aggressive whereas in your area it might behave itself. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Posted by skeeter on July 27, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    Yippee, blooms and with hot weather too! Our gardens look pretty sparse this summer with the heat and lack of rain. My hose is not doing the trick like Natures rainfall can do. I dont fertilize but may rethink that with the lack of blooms this year.

    I like Spaz and Mooch idea for summer! If only I could be so lucky as those two fur babies or yours 🙂

    Yep I was happy to have something to share this week with the dreadful weather we’ve been having Skeeter. I know what you mean, we can never duplicate what Mother Nature can do with one good rainfall. The garden almost sighs with relief when the heavens open. 🙂 I didn’t fertilize this year but last year I had put compost down which is the equivalent. Need to put more down this fall, the soil is looking a bit tired. Yep my dogs & cat have the good life alright, lol. 😉

    Reply

  12. I may need to give the obedient plant a try. It can fight the other invasive plants in my wild garden! Love the macro! Jean

    That would be interesting to watch them duke it out that’s for sure Jean. 😉 Thanks!

    Reply

  13. Your garden seems to be thriving in the hot weather. It’s been horribly hot in Colorado too. The plants aren’t the only thing that’s wilting!

    Well you would think so, but I’m only showing the good parts, lol. 😉 I know what you mean, it’s so hot here I literally melt everytime I go outside.

    Reply

  14. wow you had a hot week but your flowers look lovely! Never had an obedient plant…..(they always do what the want and not what I tell them 😉 )

    Yep it’s been a bit cooler these past couple of days, thank goodness. Yep the name isn’t about their cooperative nature that’s for sure, lol. 😉

    Reply

  15. Posted by Paula on July 27, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    Your flowers are beatiful! Love that obedient plant. Paula in Idaho

    Thank you Paula, it was a hit this week. 🙂

    Reply

  16. I had forgotten how much I like obedient plants. I will have to try to add one to my garden sometime soon. I had a couple of them in our garden at our old house. Thanks for visiting my garden.

    They are cool plants, too bad they are such thugs. I’ve heard that the white one ‘Miss Manners’ is better behaved though. You are quite welcome Sherry. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

