Inspite of the heat (Part 1-Sun lovers)

(From upper L-R across & down: Rudbeckia, Echinops 'Ritro', Lantana 'Miss Huff', Hemerocallis 'Colorful Summer', Liatris, Asclepias, Echinacea and Hemerocallis 'Kwanzo')

Here’s some of the sun-loving perennials that survived the weeks of heat with no rain in my garden this  past month.  These are definitely plants that will always be welcome additions to the landscape, in my opinion.  I know I’m not crazy about dragging hoses or toting watering cans around when it’s over 90 degrees.  Now the potted plants and veggie garden get the water from my rain barrels which leaves either Mother Nature or hoses for the ornamental gardens.  However I can’t afford to have a huge water bill not to mention that sometimes we are under water restrictions due to drought.  So if there are plants that will stand up to these harsh conditions without being babied and pampered they are always at the top of my favorites list.  Natives are always a good addition to the garden, but there are quite a few cultivars that are just as hardy.  Next time I’ll show you my list of  shade-loving perennials that have survived this weather thus far this summer.  Hope everyone is having a nice weekend so far.  🙂

11 responses to this post.

  1. Those are great perennials. I need to plant more sun loving beauties, this heat wave is hot, hot, and wilting the other plants.

    Thanks Meems. I know what you mean, my poor Mophead & Lacecap Hydrangeas are really feeling the effects of this brutal summer. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Channel 13 said 40% chance today, I hope you and I are both in it.

    We’ll see Les, we’ll see. I did feel a couple of raindrops and it’s booming out there now. Crossing my fingers for both of us! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Always interested in independent plants! These are beautiful.

    Yep especially with our summers getting hotter and drier every year. Thanks Darla. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Beautiful sun lovers. I have many of those same type of flowers in my garden, and I couldn’t do without them in the summer months. Happy bloom day.~~Dee

    Thanks Dee, yep the troopers are the ones that keep the summer garden blooming and beautiful 🙂

    Reply

  5. Great perennials! I have all of those, but my daylilies (Happy Returns and Joan Senior) have rather ratty brown foliage with the 12 hours of strong sun in my garden.

    It is pouring rain right now! I felt like going outside to dance in it, but there’s that phenomena called lightning that is keeping me indoors! Maybe this storm will head up your way after my garden is filled with water. 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

    My Daylillies like Stella are looking a bit ragged as well but I know they will bounce back come Sept when the temps cool off a bit. Lucky you, it looked like it was going to rain here for a bit yesterday afternoon and it did sprinkle but nothing substancial. 😦 Here’s hoping we get a chance at some more soon…. Thanks Cameron, enjoy the rest of your weekend.

    Reply

  6. Can’t beat those drought and heat tolerant plants. They look great!

    Nope and I’m making note of the ones that are standing up to these conditions this summer. Thanks Tina! 🙂

    Reply

  7. Nice collection of heat lovers Racquel. Sorry it’s been so hot and dry for you this summer ~ hopefully that will break soon. We’re right there with you now and even tho I hate snow, I’m not fond of 100 degrees either! Some people are never happy!!!! 😉

    Thanks Kathleen, it’s been a brutal summer for sure and I am looking forward to fall. I know what you mean, I don’t like snow either but the milder temps of spring and fall are a relief. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Aggh..I know what you mean about the heat and dryness..we’ve had higher than normal humidity also and some of my beauties weren’t prepared for that. I didn’t plant any lantana this year, though I’m beginning to regret that decision as it always seems to come through for me no matter the heat. Even the poor lavender is looking ratty and it normally handles heat and dryness pretty well. Your garden is looking lovely actually! I know the upcoming cooler weather will bring everything back to its glory (if it makes it through..lol) Hang in there!
    Rhonda

    Yep Lantana is a tough cookie when it comes to summers like this one. My Lavender ‘Hicote’ is loving it as well as my Gaura. Those were two plants I forgot to mention on this list. Thanks Rhonda but believe me I caught the better aspects and hid the ugly spots. 😉

    Reply

  9. These are some of my favorites, Racquel. I agree it’s been too hot to feel like babying plants this summer, so I’m really appreciating the natives and the heat-lovers.

    Great minds think alike Rose. 😉 I really don’t have the energy to run out there when it’s so hot, but the good news is it’s raining right now! Hooray!!!! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Hi Racquel,
    These are some of my favorites too. They always come through with many blossums. I’m making room for more of them…instead of so many annuals next year. Keep cool….Balisha

    Yep they are real troupers in the garden especially with these extreme conditions. Good plan Balisha, me too! The annuals I find that are tough include Periwinkle which will tolerate sun or shade and Profusion Zinnias which come in a variety of colors. 🙂

    Reply

  11. I’m changing over to a xeric garden. There are so many beautiful plants to choose from that tolerate drought. Yours are lovely.

    Hope you get a good rain soon. Hope we do too.
    Marnie

    That’s what I need to do too Marnie. It would save me alot of time, money & heartbreak every summer. Thanks and guess what it’s raining right now! Hooray, hope we get a nice amount this time. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

