The Arbor Garden over a year…

I started keeping track of the changes in my Arbor Garden last year from month to month.   Of course I was going to share this with you all much sooner but I took an extended break from last November through April due to family commitments.  So better late than never here is the Arbor Garden in 2009.  If you look closely you will see subtle changes I made from something as obvious as the birdbath which has been switched out with another one.  Some plants have probably been moved or replaced.   In the brown months December-February the touches of red from the bench and tub planter add some interest as well as complimenting the berries on the Nandinas.  I trim my Nandinas into tree forms to add some permanent structure to the garden since they are evergreen.  It was fun to make this slideshow and see how much a single area can evolve from season to season.   So hopefully you enjoy this slideshow presentation of the Arbor Garden as much as I enjoyed making it for all of you.   🙂

11 responses to this post.

  1. I love that you posted the month by month update of your arbor garden. Funny timing, I was just updating my garden album on Facebook and deleted a few old photos that were of some of the same spaces that are now lush and gorgeous, but were pretty bare when I posted the photos initially. I wish I was disciplined to take monthly photos of areas….it would be so fun to track the progress.

    I’m glad you liked the monthly update on my Arbor Garden. That is ironic Anne, lol. I decided to do this after seeing another blogger had kept track of a certain garden space. It was cool to see the changes from month, some quite dramatic. 🙂

    Reply

  2. What a great idea. I think we sometimes think the garden doesn’t change much, especially during the summer. But your slide show really puts it into perspective. Really like the red planter and bench that compliments the nadina (I was wondering what that was till I read your descriptions).

    Thanks Heather, glad you enjoyed my slideshow of the Arbor Garden. I was actually very surprised to see how dramatically a garden can evolve in just 30 days. Yep I love my touches of red, they really stand out from a distance (especially from my kitchen window in the winter mos.) 🙂

    Reply

  3. Very neat Racquel. Your arbor garden is so interesting looking at it all thru the year. Those nandina berries sure do shine in December too!

    Thanks Tina, I’m glad you liked watching the transformation of the Arbor Garden in a year. They really do add some color when the garden is so brown otherwise. 🙂

    Reply

  4. It’s beautiful every season Racquel. Even in snow which you know I don’t like. It’s super full this year too ~ so much growth in one years time. I hope you keep doing it ~ in two years time it will be a jungle!! What are the tall purple spikes of flowers on the right?

    Thank you Kathleen. 🙂 I like the way the snow looks when it covers the garden but then it just gets messy and yucky. It changes so much from year to year with the tweaking I do every fall, lol. Those tall purple spikes would be Liatris, love it and so do the bees & butterflies.

    Reply

  5. Yeah, that red tub (made of?) really stands out in winter. Lovely. And the snow looks so welcoming in this hot hot July!

    It’s made of galvanized steel and I spray painted it red. Thanks Monica, doesn’t the snow look inviting with all the heat we’ve been having lately? 🙂

    Reply

  6. I love seeing it all fill in so beautifully. Very inspiring to watch the transition. You’ve created a lovely garden. 🙂

    Thank you Meredith for your nice comments and for stopping by to check out my blog today. 🙂

    Reply

  7. What a neat idea! It looked great almost thru every month. Thanks for sharing Racquel.

    Thanks Susie, I’m glad you liked this slideshow. I can’t take all the credit, Tina did something similar last year and gave me the idea. YW! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Hi Racquel, keeping photo records like that is a wonderful idea but something I never remember to do. Our gardens change many times over the year, often dramatically, and it would be fun if I could remember. I especially liked the winter view.

    I only thought to do it with this one area of the garden Marnie. Wish I was better at keeping a yearly record of all the beds. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  9. I love seeing all of the seasons in your arbor garden, very nice!

    Thanks Darla, glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Ph. The slide app is really great! I want to use that in my blog as well. Anyway, I love the photos! Thank you for sharing some updates on your Arbor Garden project! I love it. Hope to see more of it in the future. The picture with the snow looks very much like my garden back then. LOL

    Reply

  11. Your photos are really great especially when you use the slide application. Great idea too on tracking your garden in a month and show how it changes after a month. My garden looks nice every month except on the first months of my gardening. LOL! Thanks for sharing your garden photos.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

