Bloomin Tuesday

 

This week for Bloomin’ Tuesday I thought I would share a couple of new things starting to blossom in the garden. 

David's Lavender Phlox

This new perennial was added to the garden last fall.  I’ve grown the white one in the past but it died. Hopefully this one will survive and keep getting better.   Its’ companion plant is Lantana ‘Miss Huff’ which is pink, orange & yellow.

Hydrangea 'White Swan'

I absolutely adore Hydrangeas, and the Paniculatas have to be my favorites.  ‘White Swan’ was added last fall and didn’t look like much to be honest, just a twig with a couple of leaves.  However it has it really taken off this year and showing signs of being a great shrub.  

Eucomis comosa or Pineapple Lily

 The third and final new addition is this Pineapple Lily.  Last summer it was added to the garden and gave me one pretty bloom, this year I hope to get more.  To see what’s blooming in other gardens all over the country or to join in this week, please visit our gracious host Jean at  Ms Greenthumb.

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Happier Than A Pig in Mud on July 6, 2010 at 6:58 am

    I never saw the Pineapple Lily before, what a fun plant-enjoy!

    Isn’t it a cool looking bloom? 🙂

    Reply

  2. I’ve never seen the Pineapple Lily either – it’s so cute.

    Yep and it just gets better as it opens up. 🙂

    Reply

  3. looks like they are adjusting to their new home quite well.

    Yep I’m pleased with these three new additions. 🙂

    Reply

  4. What color will the pineapple lily be when matured?

    I’m pretty sure the bloom opens up to a creamy white color Susie. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Great blooms! I sure like the pinepple lily. It is so unusual!

    Thanks Linda, it is a pretty cool plant huh? 🙂

    Reply

  6. I still haven’t tried eucomis on my wish list, but yours looks so lovely! Stay cool in the heat wave.

    It’s worth a try Cameron, not much trouble from what I’ve seen so far. Thanks and you too! 🙂

    Reply

  7. I’ve been wanting David’s Lavendar Phlox in my garden for a few years now but just haven’t gotten around to getting some. So glad to see your pic – I can live through you! The pineapple lily is very exotic looking – looking forward to seeing it in full bloom.

    It was a new one on me and I’m happy with the color and it’s performance thus far Tracy. Feel free to live vicariously through me, lol 😉 Thanks I really like the unusual looking bloom on this Eucomis too and promise to share a pic when it fully opens.

    Reply

  8. I hadn’t realized that David came in colors. Have to check that out.

    I love hydrangea too. What a cutie your pineapple lily is.
    Marnie

    Yep it was a new one on me too Marnie. I like this lavender purple shade so much. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  9. I love the new orange template! And how hydrangea start to blossom around the edges first. And that pineapple lily, which I’ve never seen, is so sweet.

    Thanks Monica, I’m glad you like my new template. Yep I love how pretty this Hydrangea is and it just keeps getting better. 🙂

    Reply

  10. That lavender phlox looks like the ones I see blooming in everyone’s gardens here and if it is, I bet it’ll do well in your garden. I too had issues with the other phloxes so got some from a client’s garden that is actually blooming-for the first time. But it only gets better with time. I can’t wait to see how ‘White Swan’ looks all the way open. Right now my paniculatas are starting-I love these too!

    I wonder if it is, I had never heard of it before I ordered it last fall. Thanks I hope so. The only one I’ve never had issues with other than a bit of mildew from time to time is ‘Robert Poore’. I’ll try to remember to post a pic when ‘White Swan opens fully for you. 🙂

    Reply

  11. That pineapple lily looks really intriguing–I can’t wait to see it in bloom! I haven’t had much luck with phlox in the past either, but I just bought a new one on sale, so I’m crossing my fingers that this one likes it here.

    Thanks Rose, I promise to post a pic of the Eucomis when it fully opens up. Good luck with your new Phlox. 🙂

    Reply

  12. How exciting to come here and and see a Pineapple Lily!! I bought 2 last year. They did not bloom, but I am hoping to see a bloom this year. They seem to be very slow taking off this year. One is just now poking through the soil and it’s been out for over six weeks. I am in zone 5, though, and am always way behind everyone else.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today. I love to find new gardening blogs. I will definitely be visiting you again.

    Well I’m glad my photo gives you something to look forward to Zoey. 🙂 Are they getting enough sun? At first I planted mine in full shade and it was not happy but it seems to like the second location much better. You are quite welcome, it’s good to meet you too.

    Reply

  13. I can’t wait to see the complete blooms on the hydrangea and the pineapple lily! I finally have some budding on my hydrangeas. Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday! I like the new background. Jean

    Maybe this time next week I’ll have a shot of the blooms totally opened to share with you all Jean. Thanks and a Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday to you too! 🙂

    Reply

  14. Posted by Bonnie on July 8, 2010 at 9:56 am

    What fun photos!

    Thanks Bonnie. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

