Urban Gardening

My Mom (former blogger  Capricious in Cleveland) has a beautiful urban garden on the roof of her apartment complex.  Since she isn’t showing off her yummy veggies and gorgeous blooms this year, I thought I would share it with you all.  Just goes to show that even if you don’t have a plot of land to till you can still grow tasty stuff or colorful flowers.  All it takes is permission from your landlord, lol, and some containers.  As you can see here she is pretty creative with her selection of pots.  The orange buckets from Home Depot are great for tomatoes and found objects like the driftwood and flamingo give her space charm and whimsy.  Thanks for letting me share your wonderful garden today Mom.  (All photos were taken by and belong to my Mom and posted with her permission.)   I won’t be posting for a few days, hope everyone has a safe and happy Fourth of July weekend.   🙂

10 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, your Mom’s container garden is fabulous Racquel. It’s so colorful and all her plants are so healthy and vigorous looking. I would find this kind of gardening just as rewarding as the kind we do. I’m sure when I get older, I’ll be happy to give up my yard and switch over!
    Have to love that pink flamingo too. Fun!

    Thanks Kathleen, I’ll pass that on to her. 🙂 I know this type of gardening takes more work since containers can dry out so quickly, but she’s done a fabulous job and it shows.

    Reply

  2. Love the flamingo! All the plants looks so lush and pretty!

    Isn’t he fun, lol. Thanks Meems, I’ll pass that on to her. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Such pretty color! Your mother is quite talented with growing such lush flowers on a roof no less. Have a safe weekend.

    Thanks Tina, I will pass on these compliments to her, she will be thrilled. 🙂

    Reply

  4. beautiful….how much fun!

    Thanks Darla! 🙂

    Reply

  5. This is a terrific garden. You obviously inherited your mother’s green thumb.

    Why thank you Heather, what a lovely compliment. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I love all the color combos and that pink flamingo is the perfect plant partner! 🙂

    Have a wonderful July 4th holiday!

    Thanks Cameron, I will pass along your comments to my Mom. Happy 4th of July w/end! 🙂

    Reply

  7. I’m absolutely love her annual combinations– the oranges, yellows, blues, with a dark red, beautiful! Please tell your mom how much I admire her garden.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie. I like her color combos too and I will pass on your admiration. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Don’t say plants don’t have a voice! These happy plants truly say that your mother loves her garden! What a great little garden!

    Yep their definitely screaming how happy they truly are huh? Thanks Anja! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Wow! Your mom has done a fantastic job! I am seeing more and more of these roof top gardens and I think it is wonderful! Her plants sure look lush..bet the weather is great for growing where she lives!

    Thanks Linda, I will let her know what you said. 🙂 Yep she’s so lucky to live in Ohio where the temps are much milder at this time of the year and she’s been blessed with ample amounts of rain as well.

    Reply

  10. I can see where you got your green thumb, Racquel–your mother’s garden is lovely! It’s a great example of what you can do with a limited amount of space. I’m not usually a fan of pink flamingos, but I had to smile at this one protecting all the plants:)

    Thanks Rose, I will pass that compliment on to her. 🙂 But actually my love for gardening comes from both sides of my family, my grandmother on my father’s side was a big influence as well. Yep it makes me smile too. lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

