Bloomin Tuesday

 

(From upper L-R across & down: Shasta Daisies, Echinops 'Ritro', Crocosmia, Tigerlily, Phlox 'Robert Poore' and Rudbeckia)

 Some of my most colorful plants are blooming right now in the garden.  Croscosmia is a bulb that I really like, not this one particularly since red is a hard color to work with I think.  I’m thinking of adding some of the yellow and orange varieties this fall to the Shed Garden as well as some other beds.  This Echinops is a cool customer in comparison to the hotter colors currently showing off in my yard.  But I like this steely blue shade and it’s so drought tolerant I love it.  With the heat we’ve been getting lately it’s great to have plants that will stand up to those conditions.  The Tigerlilies love the heat too and are great bloomers, but will reseed pretty heavily if allowed. Blackeyed Susans and Shasta Daisies are flourishing right now in my Grandmother’s garden bed, so much that they need to be divided this fall.   My favorite perennial currently in bloom has to be this Phlox, it has a long season of flowering since it gets about 3-4 flushes a year.   To see what’s blooming in other gardens all over the country or to join in this week yourself  please visit our gracious host Jean @ Ms Greenthumb.

19 responses to this post.

  1. So colorful and pretty!

    Thank you Meems! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Beautiful blooms. I didn’t know there was a phlox that rebloomed throughout the season. Thanks for sharing.

    Thanks Rosie, yep alot of them will rebloom as long as you deadhead the spent blossoms. 😉

    Reply

  3. Middle left displays flowers almost like Chinese lanterns.. beautiful, an art. ~bangchik

    That is the Tigerlily, I wish their pretty faces didn’t have to face downward. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Your garden looks so delicious! I shall have to peruse your blog more thoroughly! And, thanks for the ID on my blog post!

    Why thank you Betty. I’m glad you enjoyed my blog and I was happy to help with the id of your blooms. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Posted by Happier Than A Pig in Mud on June 29, 2010 at 7:38 am

    Nice mosaic! I love your tiger lily!

    Thanks, glad you enjoyed my collage of blooms. 🙂

    Reply

  6. You’re right about the crosmosia, red it hard to work with. But it really looks terrific in your collage.

    Thanks Heather, yep I like it, just not sure where it would look best. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Oooh! The bright colors are so beautiful! Perfect for hot summer days! Both the Rose Campion (lychnis) and the verbascum can tolerate little water but the verbascum need watered while blooming. Jean

    Glad you liked my colorful blooms today Jean. Oh and thanks for the info about the Verbascum & Rose Campion. 🙂

    Reply

  8. I have that same phlox blooming in my yard right now too. It is a beauty.

    You have some beautiful blooms there Racquel.

    It’s a good one huh? 🙂 Thanks Susie.

    Reply

  9. Racquel – we have so many of the same plants! My echinops foliage was eaten back by rabbits, so it hasn’t bloomed yet. (2 rabbits and 5 deer scattered when Charm and I went out this morning). I do love ‘Ritro’ beside burgundy foliage of companions. My poor ‘Robert Poore’ — a clump beside my stone walk succumbed to 20 straight days of 90-102 degrees. I cut it back to the ground, so hope those will revive. I do have plenty in other locations. Have a great day! I think cool air is on the way! I can’t believe that I think 82 is cool. Perspectives change!

    Great minds think alike Cameron. 🙂 Oh that is horrible about the bunnies eating your Echinops, so surprising too since the leaves are kind of prickly. That’s a good idea on matching it with burgundy foliage, I’ll have to borrow that one. lol Sorry to hear about poor Robert Poore succumbing to this dreadful heat. I’m sure it will bounce back once the temps cool down a bit. Hooray for temps in the 80’s! Ha!

    Freda

    Reply

  10. Great collage! Your phlox is stunning. I don’t have any in my garden even though I’ve been saying that I’m going to plant some for two years now. I keep getting sidetracked with other things I guess! 🙂 I also want to try the Echinops – it’s so unique and I love the color. Your flowers are all gorgeous

    Thanks Tracy! Both of these perennials would be good additions to your garden. I know what you mean, their is just so many wonderful things I would love to try as well. 🙂

    Reply

  11. love phlox too.

    Yep it’s a great perennial! 🙂

    Reply

  12. Posted by Bonnie on June 29, 2010 at 10:53 am

    Love all that color!

    Thank you Bonnie! 🙂

    Reply

  13. Such beautiful shots of gorgeous flowers!

    Why thank you Suzanne! 🙂

    Reply

  14. I just love Echniops and Eryngium… pokey plants! 🙂

    Yep pokey is right, lol. 🙂

    Reply

  15. They are all just lovely! I wish it were summer here!

    Thanks Bettyl, I wish it was spring or fall here. 🙂

    Reply

  16. Phlox is my all time favorite and this year I should have enough to cut some for bouquets the fragrance is heavenly. Have you re-done your blog, it is really wonderful. Your pictures are great, doesn’t look like you are having much bug damage. Most of the things you have blooming won’t bloom here for another month so it is nice to enjoy them in your garden first. Have a great week. Blessings Meg

    Yep in my top five as well Meg. The fragrance is so heavenly especially in the morning. I’m glad you like the changes I made to my blog, I changed the theme & colors. 🙂 That’s what makes Bloomin Tuesday so much fun, to see what others have going on in their gardens at this time of the year. Have a nice week yourself!

    Reply

  17. Thanks for checking with your mom re: garlic. That sounds like an easy thing to do.

    You are quite welcome! 🙂

    Reply

  18. Love all of your blooms and the collage.

    Thank you Laurie, I’m glad you enjoyed the collage of blooms. 🙂

    Reply

  19. Posted by Betty819 on July 31, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    As Lawrence Welk used to say on his program “Beautiful!Beautiful!Beautiful!
    Just found your blog and love that “Robert Poore” Have fell in love with Garden phlox and bee balm this year, as I know they will reseed for me and make more plants for 2011. I tried WS for first time this year and am hooked and learned so much about planting from seeds.. This year I was so overwhelmed when it came time to plant those seedlings in the flowerbeds, that I planted wherever I could find an empty spot of soil without thinking about height, color combinations, textures or much else, so I will spend the Fall correcting my mistakes and planning better for 2011’s wintersowing successes! My wish list gets longer and longer but I hope I practice restraints and most of all patience. Before trying wintersowing, I knew a lot about plants, the starter plants you buy at the garden centers/nurseries. It sure makes you look at gardening differently when you plant from seeds.

    It’s nice to meet you Betty. Glad you are finding my blog helpful. Thanks for stopping by. Yep planting from seed is a whole new ball of wax. I’ve had some success with seeds as well as cuttings. It’s always fun to try new things in the garden. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

