Warning: False Aster is INVASIVE!

 

Kalimeris incisa 'Shogun'

This deceiving perennial which is commonly called False Aster was added to the garden in the fall of 2008.  It started out life as two small clumps that seemed well behaved until now.  This year it has become something of a brute taking over the a chunk of the raised bed out front.  So much that it completely enclosed one of my Peony bushes causing it to get mildew on the foliage.  No air circulation and Voila-disease!  I have tended to this problem, ripping as much as I could of this out of that particular area and giving my poor Peony a treatment of fungicide. 😦

example of 'False Aster' spreading

Here you can see the culprit with the Peony to the left.  I wish I had taken a shot before I started ripping it out.   Don’t get me wrong I like ground covers but this was not labeled as invasive or a ground cover.  It was suppose to be a bushy perennial which it was last year.   Now I need to get back to ripping out the rest of this pesky weed! So I figured I would share this warning with all of you.  Oh well, we learn from our mistakes.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, that’s annoying that it took over like that. We bought some mint this year, and we haven’t planted it yet, because everyone tells us it grows like crazy…

    Yep didn’t see that coming at all. Oh you have to be really careful with the mint families, they are big time spreaders. I recommend putting them in a pot just to be on the safe side. 😉

    Reply

  2. I feel your pain, Racquel! My pain has another name – vinca…

    Thanks Tatyana, oh that’s another thug that I only grow in containers to keep it in check. 😉

    Reply

  3. What a shame – there should be a big red flag on the labels of these types of plants. Buyer beware!

    Yep but then people wouldn’t buy them, that would defeat the purpose for the seller huh? I blame myself for not doing better homework on this plant before purchasing it. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Hi Racquel,
    I have had things take over in my garden from time to time. Especially mint and the common violet. I was forever pulling that stuff out of the garden. Does this get a flower?
    Balisha

    Hi Balisha, yep we all have had some thugs that take over from time to time I guess. Oh the common violet is another one of my enemies as well. Yes it gets a small lavender aster like flower. 🙂

    Reply

  5. I will watch out for it for sure.

    Glad I could be of help Tina. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Yes we do learn from our mistakes. Unfortunately sometimes the hard way. I didn’t know it was an invasive plant. I thought I had it growing but mine hasn’t done that so many that isn’t what it is.

    Happy weekend!

    I think the hard way is the only way sometimes, lol. Believe me I didn’t think it was going to end up being a thug either, such a shame. 😦 Have a nice weekend Susie!

    Reply

  7. So sorry! Hope your peonies come through okay.

    Thanks Cameron, me too. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Interesting. I wonder also if certain plants aren’t invasive in colder areas but because of your milder climate, they take over more?? I’m glad you have it under control for now.

    I’ve heard that can be the case with alot of plants Kathleen. Just like somethings get bigger in milder zones. Thanks. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Thanks for the warning. I had never heard of false aster until now.

    Guess we have all had plants that kind of went nuts in our gardens. Sometimes they do well in one garden and completely over grow another.
    Marnie

    You are quite welcome Marnie. It was a new plant for me in the fall of 2008. Yep I’ve had a few that were not good additions in the past. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Don’t you just want to scream when you’re the cause of a new weed in the garden? Thanks for the alert. That’s one plant that’s going on the “Do Not Plant” list.

    Yep I just want to kick myself really hard right now! 😉 You are quite welcome, I wouldn’t want anyone else to get stuck with this thug in their garden.

    Reply

  11. Ohhh I never knew.

    Thanks for stopping by DGG. Glad I could help. 🙂

    Reply

  12. I have had the same problem with false aster this year. It has completely taken over a raised bed. Surrounded an azalea and is growing out of the cracks between the stone wall. I hate to do it but I’m going to have to start pulling it out too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

