Bloomin Tuesday

 

Hemerocallis 'Gordon Biggs'

A new daylily in my garden since last fall is this peachy orange beauty.  I think he looks great combined with Purple Angelonia (in the background).  He was divided this spring so I could have two clumps that will fill in quickly. 

 

Agastache ' Black Adder'

This perennial was added two years ago, but never seemed quite happy with the spot I planted it.  So this past fall after dividing it into two plants I moved them to a location that was a bit sunnier.  They seem happy so far.

 

Hemerocallis 'Colorful Summer'

I was happy to capture the first bloom of this summer beauty right after a nice morning rainshower.   This was another pass-a-long plant from my neighbor, but I was happy to find the id for it when I visited the local Botanical Garden a couple of summers ago.  To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in this week please visit our gracious host Jean at Ms Greenthumb.

note:  Yep I changed my blog theme again, lol.  WordPress just keeps coming up with new stuff almost daily and I just can’t resist experimenting with the new colors & layouts.  I kind of like the look of this one with the artistic swirls & stuff, it’s called Koi.  Hope you like it.  🙂

12 responses to this post.

  1. I like the rain on the lily. We had almost an inch last night, but not one drop at work.

    Thanks Les, we got such a fraction of an inch here it didn’t make a difference. 😦

    Reply

  2. Beautiful! Do you feed your daylilies? Mine are just not blooming well, and believe me—they are in full sun! 🙂

    Thanks Linda, actually I haven’t been a good gardener this year, I didn’t feed any of my perennials. 😦 Normally I either add compost to the beds or scatter slow release 10-10-10 in the spring when the Irises start to bud up.

    Reply

  3. Hey there Racquel girl ! I love your day lilies : ) that bright orange red with purplish flowers is gorgeous .. I try to plant that way too .. in fact I have a beautiful purple/blue lavender (one of the older English cultivars) with bright orange butterfly weed that is just beginning to break bud .. and helenium is way to early blooming now as well !
    What a wacky garden year we are having ?
    Pretty Pretty post girl !
    Happy Summer Solstice : )
    Joy

    It’s definitely been a wacky year so far, the temps this week are killing me. Oh well I will get what I can done and tomorrow is another day…. just like Scarlett O’Hara, huh? lol 😉

    Reply

  4. Just gorgeous. Lilies are such a treat! I think I have the same one as your first one shown.

    Thanks Teresa. I like the low maintenance of them and some are repeat bloomers as an added bonus. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Beautiful daylilies. I love the peachy ones best I think. It great you know the names. I have no idea on most of mine.

    Thanks Tina, I really like the orangey one myself, only because it’s such a prolific bloomer. 🙂 I’ve been keeping better records of what I have and what I purchase lately.

    Reply

  6. Your lilies are absolutely beautiful. Love the ‘Colorful Summer! Happy Bloomin’ Tuesday! Jean

    Thanks Jean. She’s a keeper that one. 🙂

    Reply

  7. I love your blog design. So pretty! So, the Agastache “Black Adder” – would that grow in Zone 5? Pretty. I’ve never seen that before.

    I used to hate daylilies – because the only one I was familiar with was the Stella Dora, and I disliked that gold color. But now we’ve added a few that are pretty lemon yellow, and a light red – and I’ll have to find that ‘Colorful Summer’ – that’s gorgeous.

    Thanks for sharing and stopping by my blog!

    Thanks Connie, I’m glad you like the new design. Actually that Agastache is only hardy in zones 6a-9b. I love the assortment of colors that Daylillies come in, from purples to yellows, the sky is the limit. Hope you are able to find this one, it’s a good bloomer.

    Reply

  8. Beautiful flowers, and I like the black adder. It looks similar to catnips..

    Thanks Mumsy, it’s a herb just like the Catnip. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Just stoppin by from bloomin tuesday to say beautiful pictures. You are both a great gardener and a great photographer. happy gardening.

    Well thanks for stopping by today and for the nice comments! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Posted by Bonnie on June 22, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    What gorgeous photos. Love the color of your daylily!

    Thanks Bonnie, I’m glad you liked the photos & the daylily. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Hi Racquel,
    I noticed your new template right away. I love it! Blogger has new ones, too, and I’ve been having fun looking at my blog through different ones. I picked one out, but am still messing around with it.

    Your daylilies are beauties! I’ve been taking photos of blooms with rain drops, too, as it has been raining all but a handful of days this month. I like that agastache, too. I have a couple kinds, but if I come across a ‘Black Adder’ I have a spot for it.

    Thanks for your comment on my containers. I planted fewer than usual so that I don’t have to spend so much time watering. I’ve only had to water a few times so far, because of all the rain.

    Thanks Sue, it’s fun experimenting with new looks for the blog. 🙂 We’ve been rain free here for some time, I’ve been dragging hoses. 😦 Hopefully you can find this Agastache locally, I think I bought mine from an online source a couple of seasons ago. I don’t blame you on planting less containers to cut back on watering, I use the water from my rainbarrels to water the pots I have.

    Reply

  12. When I first clicked on your blog, I knew something was different. Great header, I am not too quick to experiment. Love your new daylily.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

