Repeating color in the garden

(upper L-R across and down: Monarda 'Panorama Mixed', Coreopsis 'Jethro Tull', Balloon Flower 'Sentimental Blue', Shed Garden, Pentas, Lantana 'Miss Huff' and Salvia 'Mystic Spires')

Repeating colors in the garden is very pleasing to the eye.  I like the way the magenta pink tone of the Monarda is echoed in the Pentas.  And they don’t have to be the exact tone if they are spaced a bit apart.  The color is similar and that is what you notice.  The yellow shade of Coreopsis is repeated in the inner flowers of the Lantana ‘Miss Huff’.  She also has hints of pink and orange which is complementary to other flowers in the garden too.  Purplish blues like the Salvia and Balloon Flowers play off the yellows and magentas.  This garden overall is a combination of shades of purples from magenta to almost true blues.  And for some contrast I’ve thrown in dashes of yellow and orange just to keep it interesting.  To give the eye a place to rest there is some white blooms like Queen Anne’s Lace and some burgundy and grey foliage as well.   I’ve been trying to fill in all the gaps with spring & summer blooming bulbs as well as some annuals until the perennials mature a bit more.  Some of the choices I’ve made in these categories include: Alliums, Croscosmia, Daffodils, Cosmos, Angelonia, and Nasturiums.  I’ve also try to add long blooming perennials such as Daylillies, Salvia, Verbena bonariensis, Penstemon and Blackeyed Susans.  Some other stuff I need to add to this area include Coneflowers and Phlox to keep it interesting for months.   This is my newest garden being only 2 years old but overall I am quite pleased with the overall effect so far.  Of course I can always change things up a bit if it doesn’t work out later on down the road.  🙂

9 responses to this post.

  1. I gravitate to my favorite colors and seem to have a lot of color echo in the garden. You mentioned that you are interested in Spiderwort….will gladly share some with you before I leave. Gone this week, but back the following.

    I think we tend to gravitate towards the colors we prefer when plant shopping or at least I do. 😉 Yep I would love to have some Spiderwort from your garden. Thanks! Just shoot me an email.

    Reply

  2. Beautiful! This will be a wonderful bed. 🙂

    Thank you Nancy, I’m glad you like it. 🙂

    Reply

  3. A very nice garden and just 2 years old. What do they say about perennials: 1st year they sleep, 2nd year they creep, 3rd year they leap!

    Thanks Gloria for stopping by and for your nice comments. Yep that’s the old saying. It seems to be quite true in my experience too. 🙂

    Reply

  4. I love how you set up your collage. It does a great job illustrating what you were saying about the colors repeating.

    Your Queen Anne’s lace plants are much smaller than mine that I had last year. It was huge, and I had so many seedlings all over the whole bed this spring, that I decided to pull all but one out, and I’m not sure if I’m going to keep that one. (I’m sure there will be more coming up yet, too.) I love yours, though. Maybe the secret is letting a group of seeds grow together so they don’t get as big. Still, do you have it seed far and wide? I’m surprised they aren’t coming up in the grass. I’m willing to pull and dig out extra moonflower, verbena b., and morning glories, but I’ll have to decide about the Queen Anne’s lace.

    Thanks Sue, that’s the effect I was going for with this collage. I had one seedhead that Les from Tidewater Gardener gave me last summer and all of them sprouted. So I just pulled out the ones I didn’t want. I’ve been cutting off the seedheads before they can make more too. Oh no I’m still pulling Morning Glory seedlings and I haven’t grown them in 3 years. 😦

    Reply

  5. Racquel – We share the same thoughts on colors and plant choices. I can save seeds for rudbeckia and my coneflowers if you like. My phlox produces seeds, but I’ve never tried to collect them.

    I agree Cameron from seeing your gardens and choices for colors & plants. 🙂 Thank you for the generous offer, but I actually have large amounts of all three of these that I need to divide and spread around a bit. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I love this area! My favorite gardens are cottage style which is exactly what you have created. I noticed all your flowers stand so tall without leaning. In my corner wildflower bed the flowers seem to lean. It’s out in the full sun, but they seem to lean forward. But I love them no matter what they do! 🙂

    Oh thank you Linda. 🙂 It really is a work in progress but it’s coming along the way I visioned so far. Actually the two Alliums in the photo have plant supports that blend in since their green but for the most part everything seems to be standing up nicely and not sprawling. This bed gets all day sun which helps since the plants don’t have to grow towards the light I guess. 🙂

    Reply

  7. I’d be very pleased with this garden too. It looks great!

    Aw thanks Tina, that’s so nice. 🙂

    Reply

  8. I can’t imagine changing anything out. It looks great as it is!

    Thank you for that Susie. 🙂

    Reply

  9. When I created my beds, I didn’t give enough thought to color. I have some planted together that compliment each other but the effect of the whole beds looks kind of chaotic:)
    Marnie

    I did that with a few of mine back in the day too Marnie, I’ve slowly been reworking them over the past few seasons. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

