Yorktown Onion- Bud to Bloom

I took these photos a week or so ago and kept forgetting to post them.  Now after seeing the beautiful tall blooms I wish I had picked up more of these at the plant sale last month.  Well hopefully they will multiply over the years and give me more flowers to enjoy.  Hope everyone is having a nice week so far.  I probably won’t be posting until next week so have a good weekend too! 🙂

10 responses to this post.

  1. Oh, they are really pretty! I’m trying to picture them a few years down the line. A big cluster of them should look spectacular.

    Thanks Sunita. That’s what I’m hoping for, that they just multiply happily into a large cluster of beautiful magenta blooms. 🙂

    Reply

  2. This looks just like garlic to me. Not the society, but garlic.

    It’s actually Allium ampeloprasum, it originated from Russia and was brought over here via the English Colonists in the 16th century. It is commonly called the ‘Yorktown Onion’ since that is the only area it is native in this country. 🙂

    Reply

  3. The pods are really interesting! I can see why you like them.
    we are going to have a busy weekend too. Our daughter from Va is coming in!
    Have a great weekend Racquel!

    They are pretty cool huh? 🙂 It’s just been so hectic here this week with appts and such. Glad when I can take a break. Have a nice weekend Linda.

    Reply

  4. I like the way that the bud is so white, but the bloom turns that great purple.

    I thought that was pretty cool too. 🙂

    Reply

  5. I’m not sure that I don’t have a couple of those. They look just like that. They were given to me by a friend. I don’t remember what he called them.

    Happy weekend Racquel.

    Lucky you if your friend passed these beauties on to you Susie. They are only native to the Yorktown area in this country. I had never seen them before except on the Battlefield. Have a nice weekend! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Good morning Racquel. What a pretty bloom. I’ve never heard the name before.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie. They are such cool Alliums, I was really excited to get a clump at the Native Plant Sale hosted by the Master Gardeners in Yorktown last year. 🙂

    Reply

  7. How exciting!! A Yorktown Onion bloom. Yippppeeeee

    Thanks Janet, I wouldn’t have them if it wasn’t for you! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Fascinating! Love the stages.

    Hope you’re having a good time while away.

    Thanks Cameron, glad you enjoyed the stages as much as me. 🙂 Nope we were having yucky medical procedures done on hubby. 😦

    Reply

  9. I’m not familiar with these. They look good, very similar to the drumstick alliums. Hopefully they’ll multiply for you.

    I had never heard of them before Janet showed them to me. The buds are about 5 times the size of the Drumstick and much fuller. Thanks I hope they do too. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Your slide show is almost like watching time-lapse photography of this coming into bloom! Such a pretty bloom; I hope it multiplies for you. Have a great weekend, Racquel!

    Thanks Rose, that was the effect I was going for. 🙂 I hope it does too. Have a nice weekend yourself!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

