Bloomin Tuesday

Balloon Flowers (Platycodon grandiflorus)

My boys love the buds on these plants so much that if I don’t watch them closely they will be out there “popping” the unopened flowers.  lol  These are also known as Japanese or Chinese Bellflowers sometimes.  By the way, this is my favorite shot, I love how the sunlight shows off the deeper blue veining in the blooms. 

Astilbe

I have a white variety that has been divided and spread in several places throughout the garden.   However it has long since bloomed and faded so it was a nice surprise to see this pink one just starting to shine.  And the color reminds me of cotton candy, it’s so bright and fun. 

Autumn Fern

I know this doesn’t count as a bloom, but I love how the new fronds on this fern are this bronzey orange tone.  This has to be my favorite fern for the shade.  The colors can go from bronze to gold to red and then green all on one plant.

(From upper L-R across and down: Drumstick Allium, Liatris, Society Garlic, 'White Swan' Coneflower, Soapwort and Purple Coneflower)

Here’s a few more things that are currently starting to bloom in the garden this week.  I’m seeing a trend of purple this month in the garden.  🙂 To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in this week please visit our gracious host Ms Greenthumb.

18 responses to this post.

  1. Racquel girl I had to laugh over the “watchful eye” with your boys tempted to burst the balloon flowers .. I have to admit to a terrible urge to do the same thing ? LOL .. but I control it .. for the most part ? haha
    I am so busy with the garden I am cross eyed .. so much to do all the time let alone the normal chores .. and a million pictures taken as well .. it is just too over whelming !! eekkk!!
    Hey … I love ferns too and they deserve some limelight so show them off girl !!
    Joy : )

    Ha, that seems like something you would do Joy. 😉 It’s been so hot here that I’ve had to delay alot of my garden activities to early morning hours. We got some rain a couple of nights ago and that cooled things off quite a bit so I got caught up yesterday with some weeding, pruning and deadheading finally. Oh me too Joy, Ferns, Hostas, Heuceras etc..anything that has interesting foliage is on my list of faves. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Lovely colours – all the purples/pinks/whites work so well together. Your garden must be pretty close up and afar.

    Thanks Heather for the nice comments! 🙂 If you don’t get too close you won’t see the messy bits like weeds etc.. lol

    Reply

  3. Aren’t allium buds the cutest? At first glance I thought they were knautia, so I’m glad you labeled them, as always. My balloon flowers and astilbe aren’t quite blooming yet, but my ferns are right there with yours, lol!

    I love Alliums so much, such long time bloomers in the garden. Glad I made the id easy for you Monica. 🙂 Ferns are great, they give so much texture to the shady areas don’t you think? I’m sure it won’t be long and your Astilbe & Balloon Flowers will be blooming their hearts out too.

    Reply

  4. I’m glad my girls haven’t thought of popping my balloons…shhh. Beautiful blooms here.

    Shh..don’t show them this post so they won’t get any ideas Darla! lol Thanks!

    Reply

  5. Beautiful pictures! And blooms. I remember when my son was about 21/2 years old, I caught him pulling my yet green cherry tomatoes and throwing them at the neighbor’s dog to catch. They were having a ball.

    Thanks Rosie! Ha, that is a funny story, kids really make gardening a challenge sometimes. I remember my sons playing baseball in the backyard and trampling my garden beds like it was nothing. So frustrating! 😉

    Reply

  6. Your photo of the balloon flower is so lovely, Racquel; you’ve really captured its delicate beauty. I don’t have to worry about kids in the flowers, but Sophie has been known to do a little damage. I’ve already lost two lilies this year to her exhuberance:)

    Thanks Rose, I’m pleased with this shot. But to be honest I didn’t realize how pretty it turned out till I downloaded it to the computer. 🙂 Yep same here with my dogs, Misty the beagle sits on stuff. 😦 And then Spaz in her excitement to catch the squirrels will run over plants like it’s no tomorrow, lol.

    Reply

  7. Too funny about the balloon flowers. I think they’re irresistible to many people. My niece used to do the same thing when she saw them! Your blooms are just beautiful and so plentiful. Happy bloom day.

    Yep they are a bit tempting. 🙂 It’s my fault for showing them this feature when they were much younger. Shame on me, lol! Thanks Kathleen.

    Reply

  8. I can’t even begin to pick a fave. you have so many beauties going on right now in your garden. All so wonderful. Balloon flowers are one of my favorite flowers.

    I have a new fave every other minute myself Teresa. 🙂 Thank you!

    Reply

  9. Everything is just lovely. Your plants looks so healthy and are filled with color!

    Thanks Suzanne for the lovely comments. 😉

    Reply

  10. Posted by ~~Rhonda on June 8, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    Pretty pinks and purples! My kids always loved popping the balloon flowers, too! 🙂 Thanks for sharing your garden pics! ~~Rhonda

    Thanks Rhonda. Glad to know my boys aren’t the only ones who love doing that, lol. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Hi Racquel, your flowers are just lovely. My drumstick allium bloom about the same time as the daylilies–should be pretty soon. We are having such strange weather here, I think my garden’s schedule is really messed up.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie. That’s what I’m hoping, since I combined mine with some daylillies as well. Our weather has been bizarre too, it felt like August this past week. Yuck! 😉

    Reply

  12. Your balloon flowers are so uniqeand your ferns look great! Thanks for sharing, Paula in Idaho

    Thanks Paula, I love these, they also have white ones. 🙂

    Reply

  13. All of your flowers are so GORGEOUS!! What a beautiful bloomin’ variety.♥

    Thanks Darlene. 🙂

    Reply

  14. I love the autumn fern too! I thought I’d lost mine this year but it was just slow to arrive. The bell flower shot is perfect! I think I have a pink astilbe that is actually called cotton candy. Your garden areas must be just beautiful. Thanks for the tour. Jean

    Glad to hear yours survived Jean. Ha, isn’t that funny that you have one named ‘Cotton Candy’, what a small world. 😉

    Reply

  15. Beautiful, beautiful flowers you have here! I’ve learned some new names from you!

    Thanks Mumsy, glad I could be of help. 🙂

    Reply

  16. Beautiful. I love the purple and lavenders this year. I have a lot of those colors in my gardens. Love the last collage.

    Thanks Becca, me too they tend to be the colors I lead towards when plant shopping. 🙂

    Reply

  17. Love all of your blooms. Our Astilbe and Cone Flowers haven’t started blooming yet.

    Thanks Laurie. Believe it or not I think somethings are a bit delayed here.

    Reply

  18. Hi Racquel,
    I am grinning at the thought of you running out in the rain to tie something to a support.

    I enjoyed your blooms, too. I call my bellflowers like yours balloon flowers. They aren’t ready to bloom yet. My others that are the same as some of yours aren’t either, except for the astilbe. They do have buds on them, though. I am so excited!

    lol, glad I could make you grin. My hubby thinks I’m nuts running out in a rainstorm to tend the garden. 😉 That’s what makes Bloomin Tuesday so much fun, seeing how things are doing in different zones all over the country.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

