Hydrangeas

 

(From upper L-R: 'Nikko Blue', Forever & Ever Red, and unknown Lacecap)

My all time favorite ornamental shrub for the garden has to be the Hydrangea hands down.  Whether it be the Mopheads, Lacecaps or the Paniculatas, the blooms are spectacular.  Right now the Mopheads & Lacecap are blooming in my garden.  Their a bit fussier than the Paniculatas, but under the right conditions they are great additions to the landscape.   Forever & Ever ‘Red’ really is more of a dark pink, but from what I’ve read it is impossible to get a true red Hydrangea in the warmer zones.  But with our naturally acidic soil it’s nice to get a pink bloom that’s guaranteed. 

(From upper L-R: Oakleaf 'Little Honey', 'Limelight', 'Pinky Winky' and 'The Swan')

 The Paniculatas I have are as follows ‘Limelight’, ‘Pinky Winky’ and ‘The Swan’.   ‘The Swan was just a twig last summer so it has made some headway but is quite small still.   They are all looking quite lush & healthy with the abundance of rain we had this past winter and spring.   I also have a small Oakleaf  (‘Little Honey’)  that hasn’t bloomed since I planted it last year so here’s hoping I get to see some blooms on it this season as well.  What are some of your favorite ornamental shrubs for the garden?  🙂

13 responses to this post.

  1. I’m trying to increase my hydrangeas here. These colors are so vibrant!

    Their such a great plant, I need more spaces that are shady to add more. 😉 Thanks Darla.

    Reply

  2. Beautiful garden, this is the first time I have tried to grow hydrangeas, the plants were here when I moved in. They are so easy to grow, I think I may want more. Thanks for sharing.
    Sandy

    Hi Sandy. Thanks I’m glad you are finding your Hydrangeas easy to take care of. That makes them a must have plant for the garden. YW and thanks for stopping by today. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Oooh, that Little Honey is a honey. She doesn’t even need to flower to look good.

    That was a big selling point for me Deborah. 🙂 She is a beauty huh?

    Reply

  4. I am an active member of the Hydrangea Fan Club as well, maybe we will see each other at the next meeting.

    Sounds like a plan Les, lol. 😉

    Reply

  5. I’m keeping my fingers crossed my Limelight blooms this year. It has grown quite a bit and looks great.

    I’ll send you some good wishes for your Limelight to bloom this year too Susie. Once it starts it just gets bigger & better every year thereafter. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I am totally with you as far as loving the hydrangea. It is my favorite too and boy are they stunning this year. My poor ‘Little Honey’ didn’t make it though:( Glad yours is doing well.

    I agree Tina, this seems to be their year to shine. Must of been all that extra moisture we got this winter & spring. 🙂 Sorry to hear that your ‘Little Honey’ didn’t make it. 😦 This is my second plant, the first one died quickly.

    Reply

  7. I’ve never tried hydrangeas, and now I don’t have enough shade for them…so I will just enjoy yours! They are beautiful!

    Sorry to hear that Linda, you can share mine. 🙂

    Reply

  8. My favorite thing about hydrangea is how one or two petals open before the others–I just think that looks so neat.

    That is an interesting feature isn’t it Monica. 🙂

    Reply

  9. I’d be like a kid in a candy store to be among all of your lovely hydrangeas!

    Aww…too sweet Cameron. 😉

    Reply

  10. They are all looking wonderful Racquel. I am sick to death over losing my oakleaf hydrangea this past winter. I’d had it in the garden for six years. boo hoo.
    Now that I’ve seen all your gorgeous varieties, maybe I’ll try another?

    I’m sorry to hear about the loss of your Oakleaf Kathleen. I wouldn’t give up yet, give one another try. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Your hydrangeas are beautiful. I have to say that Korean Spice Vibernum would be my all time favorite. I had one at my former house and have a small one here…just starting. I love the way the shrub grows (I kept it limbed up) and the fragrance is heavenly. Smells like carnations to me.
    Balisha

    Thank you Balisha. Ooh good choice, I love Vibernums too! I only have one variety in my garden, but I would add more if I had the space to put them. Yours sounds wonderful with that spicy scent. 🙂

    Reply

  12. I love all your hydrangea! Beautiful colors! I looked for a ‘Little Honey’ last year abnd could only find them online. Did you get yours online? I hate to order if I don’t know the place. Jean

    Thanks Jean. I bought mine online too, didn’t see it in local nurseries here. The online nursery I got it from was http://www.bluestoneperennials.com. They are very good, I’ve ordered lots from them over the years. And they guarantee their plants too! 🙂

    Reply

  13. I don’t grow many shrubs. I do have a few butterfly bushes. I planted a couple beauty berry bushes last year, and they look like they will be blooming soon. I put some viburnums, a mock orange, and a deutzia across the street to block the view of the neighbors’ yard. I do have a small hydrangea called, ‘pia’ that only had one set of blooms the last couple years, but is has lots of buds this year. I hope they all open up well.

    Oh, the amsonias and baptisias turn into shrubs when they reach full size. They may be my favorites, if they are considered shrubs.

    I love every one of your hydrangeas!

    Sounds like you have quite a few good shrubs in your garden Sue. I’ve been trying to add more every year. They really are the backbone of the garden. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

