Wordless Wednesday: Blooms and Buds

12 responses to this post.

  1. Hey Racquel girl !
    I love the slide show : ) I might have to borrow that idea from you ? LOL
    I have that different Lamb’s Ear too this year .. I might have it in the wrong spot though .. I have to think about it .. I had Harvest Moon ehcinacea at one time and it was gorgeous ! I might have to find it again .. but I did score Tiki Torch and Flame Thrower so I am watching them : ) Your buddleia is ahead of mine and I bet you can’t wait to smell that honey scent they have .. isn’t it amazing ?
    That Black and Blue salvia has me wanting it now .. it is such a gorgeous colour and most salvias can take this punishing weather .. those and the herbs stay great.
    Soon it will be time to pinch back the Autumn blooming plants .. in fact I will be looking at that today perhaps .. if I can manage it .. I miss being in the garden so much .. it is always either you work too hard and complain about it or miss being in the garden and complain about it ? Too funny eh ?
    Joy : )

    Thanks Joy! It’s so easy to create this slideshow, just go to http://www.slide.com to make one yourself. πŸ™‚ Mine gets morning sun followed by afternoon shade and seems quite content. I love the new Echinaceas, especially this ‘Sundown’ which has really taken off this season. Ooh I love the color of ‘Tiki Torch’, must think of finding a spot for it in the garden, lol. Oh and the wildlife that Butterfly Bush attracts is another bonus to this sweet smelling shrub. Yep I love Salvia, it does so great in my garden that I keep adding one or two more each year. This ‘Black & Blue’ is my fave at the moment. Thanks for the reminder, need to pinch back the mums and soon trim back the sedums. Hope you are able to get back to the garden soon, it can be a chore in the heat but I wouldn’t have it any other way I guess. πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  2. The skullcap hyssop is really neat. Your garden is glowing.

    Thanks Tina, I picked that little beauty up at a Native Plant Sale a few seasons ago. It really is a cool plant. It tends to seed freely all over the garden but is easily removed if necessary. I love it! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. Loved the slide show. You must like coneflowers like me! My sundown did not return, but white swan is blooming. All your flowers are looking really happy!

    Thanks Linda, yep I love Coneflowers of all colors! I was happy to see my new ones return and get lusher this year. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. A great slideshow! That skullcap hyssop is very interesting. How tall does it grow? I have a short skullcap variety that is a deep rose color. What color is that buddleia? Our gardens seem to be on the same schedule this year.

    Thanks Cameron. It gets to be about 2 to 2 1/2 feet tall and the soft lavender works well with so many other colors. Your Skullcap sounds pretty too. My Buddleia is white, I was late cutting it back this spring so it’s not as far along as it usually is this summer. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  5. Lovely blooms. I like that sundown echinacea. Thanks for the slideshow.

    Your welcome Susie, I’m glad you enjoyed it. It’s my favorite at the moment too. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. Good morning Racquel, what a cool slide show. I like your two salvia. I grew them last year but couldn’t find any thins spring at my local greenhouse. Beautiful hyssop.
    Marnie

    Good morning Marnie. Thank you, I’m glad you liked the slideshow today. πŸ™‚ I found them 2 seasons ago at Lowe’s. So lucky, haven’t seen them since then.

    Reply

  7. Very cool idea, I love the Salvia ‘Black and Blue’ but mine does not start flowering until later in the summer. I think I might have to try ‘Wild Thing’ is I can find her, gorgeous.

    Thanks Deborah. I was surprised that mine started blooming already, I think it didn’t bloom till July last year. Nice surprise. Both of these I found at Lowe’s so happy hunting. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  8. Perfect way to display your blooms today, Racquel! Wordless is a great way to go, especially when we have so much to show (and narrate) that it would cover pages and pages;-) You are ahead of me with blooms…my liatris has no buds yet. Lilies are out, though, and things are definitely hoppin’ here. I’ll bet your garden is a sight to behold right now;-)

    Thanks Jan. Yep I just wanted to show off my blooms but didn’t feel like bogging you all down with words. πŸ˜‰ I guess that half of a zone makes a difference in blooms huh?

    Reply

  9. Love your slide show, Racquel! I never seem to get around to trying something like this. It really highlights all your lovely blooms . . . and Mooch, too:) He reminds me of our Tarzan who is my frequent garden companion. I’m impressed by the coneflowers you have blooming already, but the “Black and Blue” salvia makes me a little sad–mine didn’t return this year, and I forgot to look for another in the garden centers. Is yours a perennial?

    Thanks Rose. You should try the slideshow, it’s fun to put together and makes things easier to display. Ha, you’re the first one to even mention my Moochers kitty. πŸ™‚ He was stalking me yesterday while I was taking these shots, lol. Yep my Black & Blue has overwintered the past two years, it’s definitely a perennial here. Time will tell if it’s a long or short lived one.

    Reply

  10. I do love your slide show! Fantastic blooms! I think you must be a week or two ahead of us! I have a few coneflowers and the stachys is my favorite bee magnet…B&B is perennial here~even after the arctic blast for two weeks. gail

    Thanks Gail. That’s what Jan said too and she lives just alittle north of me. I’m loving that Stachys, this will be the first spring I’ve had it in the garden. It was planted last fall. Same here with Black & Blue, it’s so hardy. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  11. Pretty snazzy Racquel!! You are a technical wizard compared to me to get that video all set up. Your blooms are awesome too ~ you have blooms we won’t have until July! I really like the stachys.

    Thanks Kathleen. You’d be surprised how easy these slideshows are to create. Just click on the make your own & give it a try. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  12. Nice slide show! Again, I am anticipating some of the same blooms in my garden soon. We like lots of the same kinds of flowers. I grow Black and Blue salvia every yeary. I ended up getting 3 or 4 plants this year.

    Thanks Sue. πŸ™‚ We have good taste huh? lol Luckily for me the Black & Blue Salvia is a perennial here. I hope to divide mine next season or add more if I can find them again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

