Bloomin Tuesday

Foxtail Lily (Spring Valley Hybrids)

This is my first bloom ever from a Foxtail Lily.  It doesn’t quite look like the photo in the catalog, but the fact that they actually emerged and I got a flower is a miracle.   They prefer well drained soil and will not tolerate drought.  This area seemed to be the perfect spot in my opinion but I guess they didn’t think so.  Out of 5 bulbs, this is the only one that sent up a flower stalk.  Maybe come fall I’ll try relocating them to a different spot in this bed.

Asiatic Lily ‘Monte Negro’

This is one of two Asiatic Lillies I grow in my garden.  The other one’s name is long forgotten and it hasn’t bloomed yet.  I really need to add more of these carefree plants to my garden this fall.  Making a note now.  🙂

Lavender 'Hidcote'

Last week I think I showed you one single bloom of this plant, but here’s a shot of the entire plant in full bloom.  This will be the first time I had a Lavender overwinter.  This area gets full sun all day and is well drained.

Evening Primrose 'Twilight'

Here’s a better photo of the Evening Primrose I picked up at Wally World the other day.  And look at that a bonus shot of some insect.  Don’t know what that one is, do any of you?  To see more Bloomin’ Tuesday posts or to join in this week please visit our gracious host Jean @ Ms Greenthumb.

18 responses to this post.

  1. Love your blooms Racquel, especially the evening primrose. I want to try these next year. Let me know how they do as the summer goes on. I just love, love these flowers! 🙂

    Thanks Linda, I’ll keep you updated on this plant. Supposibly they can be a bit invasive. Hope not.

    Reply

  2. Love the lily and the lavender. I’ve been afraid to try eremus, but I just saw that Frances at Fairegarden has had some success, too. I like the evening primrose and wonder if the deer or bunnies would leave it alone? I’ve not done the research on it, but I’m now in need of short plants with pale pink blooms!

    Thanks Cameron. I’m not totally pleased with the progress of this Eremus, but maybe if I relocate it in the fall I’ll find a better spot. I don’t know if the Evening Primrose is undesirable to critters, the only ones I deal with are squirrels. They more or less like to relocate my bulbs and dig up stuff, lol. 😉

    Reply

  3. The Foxtail Lily reminds me of cleome somewhat, very nice. Oh and that second Lily, oh la la!

    It does alittle with those whiskers huh? 😉 Thanks Darla!

    Reply

  4. Oh, just so pretty. We haven’t had too many things bloom, iris is just starting and I’m waiting on those faithful lilies.

    Thanks Dawn, I’m sure your garden will be a mass of blooms before you know it! 🙂

    Reply

  5. Could your visitor to the Evening Primrose be a firefly?

    Huh, you could be right Les. It was late afternoon when I took these photos, thanks! 🙂

    Reply

  6. I’ve never seen a foxtail lily before. At first I thought it was a cleome. Really pretty!

    Thanks Susie, I’ve been wanting these for years in my garden. But they never end up looking like the plant catalog photos. 😉

    Reply

  7. Very nice! I need to add more lavender to our garden.

    Thanks Dave, this one is a good one for our area. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Great job on the foxtail lilies. I like those evening primrose even though they tend to selfseed everywhere they are most bright and cheery.

    Thanks Tina, but I don’t think it’s been a great success as of yet. 😦 That’s what Gail said, so I’ve been deadheading daily to keep them in check. 🙂

    Reply

  9. I ordered three foxtial lilies int he fall. I discovered them in Denver and fell in love with them. I knew they grew here because a fellow blogger had grown them. I also knew they liked well-drained soil, which I thought I had but probably don’t, as they haven’t come up. I thought, however, they were xeric plants–I had no idea they required a lot of water. I guess I’ll order them again in fall and provide better conditions.

    Yep they are a difficult plant to grow from my experience Monica. I’m not giving up yet. One more try and then that’s that. 😉 According to the info I read, they like well drained but not dried out soil.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Bonnie on June 1, 2010 at 10:23 am

    I never heard of foxtial lilies. Very pretty.

    They grow them more out west I think, but I saw them at our local Nursery growing beautifully and had to order some. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Love the evening primrose.

    Me too Becca. 🙂

    Reply

  12. Those are beautiful shots and beautiful blossoms. The primrose is delicious!

    Thanks Suzanne. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Wowzer! That ‘Monte Negro’ lily is a jaw-dropper! What a spectacular colour. All your blooms are lovely.

    Thanks Nancy, it is a pretty striking color huh? 🙂

    Reply

  14. The Foxtail lily is certainly interesting! I love the color of the Asiatic. I have pink and white evening primrose and love them! The only trouble is they spread into single stems ands I’m afraid I pull some out when I weed. Thanks for being such a consistant participant. Jean

    Thanks Jean, I’m glad you enjoyed my blooms today. Thanks for the tip about the Primrose too, I’ll keep an eye out for seedlings. 😉 YW, I enjoy seeing what’s bloomin in gardens all over the country every week. 🙂

    Reply

  15. Isn’t it amazing how the plants tell you where they are happy. I wish I could grow lavender here, yours looks so nice. Your lilies are great. We have had a lily leaf beetle visit ours a bit too often this year. Everyday in the garden is a new kaleidoscope turning for us to enjoy.
    Blessings Meg

    Yep and the volunteers seem to do better than the ones I took time & care to plant. 😉 This is my first success with Lavender. Tried many types and this is the only one that overwintered. Thanks for stopping by today Meg. 🙂

    Reply

  16. That lavendar is gorgeous!

    Thanks Katie. 🙂

    Reply

  17. I’ve always been told foxtail lilies were xeric too Racquel ~ I thought you could rot the tubers with too much water?? I have both yellow and orange in my garden and I am certainly sparse with watering them. They are doing well if that’s any indication?? This year, four blooms on the orange & three on the yellow ~ I’ll post photos soon. They do also like heat (something you have more of than me). At least you got a bloom tho ~ that’s a good start! It took me two years to get my first one.

    Now I’m really confused Kathleen. 😉 Well like I said I probably will move them come fall to see if they like a different spot better. Wish me luck. Maybe it was all that rain we had this winter? Hmm…

    Reply

  18. Racquel, I’ve never tried a foxtail lily. Good luck with yours! The red lily looks like one of ours which is an unknown…I’m wondering if it’s the same as yours. Will have to check into that. Thanks for sharing your garden pictures! ~~Rhonda 🙂

    Thanks Rhonda. Hopefully my picture helped you id your unknown Lily. That would be something huh? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

