Rosa ‘Morning Magic’

Rosa ‘Morning Magic’  has become my new favorite rose in the garden at the moment.  I planted one last season on the right side of the arch in the Arbor Garden.  It has done so well I removed the climbing ‘Bonica’ that was on the left side (and moved it elsewhere) and planted another ‘Morning Magic’ in its’ place.  This is from the developers of the Knockout series of roses and has all the same great qualities such as disease resistance.  In addition it’s a prolific bloomer with lightly scented flowers from spring to frost.  The size is compact at only 8-10 feet which makes it perfect for this arch and it is easy to train to a trellis.   You can’t really make out the size of the one on the left but the one on the right started out that small and tripled in one season.  Hopefully this time next year my arch will be almost completely full.  I can just imagine a living arch of  green foliage followed by flowers for years to come.  Here’s all the details on this great rose:

  • Class: Modern Climber
  • Origin: Radler, US
  • Flower Size: 4 inches semi double
  • Scent: Light, Fruity
  • Bloom Season: Constant Repeater
  • Mature Size: 8-10 feet
  • Hardiness: Zone 5-9
  • Propogation: softwood, hardwood cuttings and grafting
  • Highly resistant to blackspot & mildew
  • Blooms on new wood, prune early spring
  • Spacing:  36-48 inches

Note:  I’ll be taking a break from the blogging world for the next few days so I hope everyone has a safe and happy Memorial Day weekend.  🙂

10 responses to this post.

  1. Racquel girl that is a gorgeous beauty ! … and to be so disease resistant is fantastic : )
    I was out in the worst heat/humidity that broke records in South East Ontario in fact .. out there at war with aphids and drought conditions .. I had to cut back my Zepherine Drouhin (spelling is most likely wrong .. big sigh !) and a bit off of my new Morden Sunrise I planted in that bed .. I try so hard not to use chemicals .. so cut backs on the worst parts and blasting with the hose is my method ! haha
    I love the colour ! and she looks like one wonderful rose to have in your lovely garden !
    Joy : )

    Thanks Joy, I love Roses that require less maintenance but still bloom beautifully. 🙂 The aphids don’t seem to bother these Knockout series as much as the hybrids either. Don’t blame you, that’s what I do with the few hybrid Roses I have too, cut off the diseased stuff and blast the bugs off with a hose. 😉

    Reply

  2. Very pretty Racquel. Love the soft color. I hadn’t thought of Bonica as a climber, will have to read more about it.

    Thanks Janet, this soft shell pink blends in beautifully with darker tones of pink & red as well as purples and blues. 🙂

    Reply

  3. I can almost smell that rose! I bought my first knock out and am trying to decide if I can put it in a container. I read online that knock outs are the BEST rose for containers so think I will give it a try!
    Happy weekend to you too Racquel. Look forward to hearing from you next week!

    It has a very sweet scent that you have to get a bit close to appreciate. My Mom put one in a container and says it is doing quite well. Good luck & have a nice holiday weekend! 🙂

    Reply

  4. That’s a new one for me. I’ll have to see if we sell it at work. It’s really pretty. Hope you have a wonderful weekend Racquel.

    I found it in a catalog last year and online this year. Haven’t seen in it my local nurseries yet. Thanks Susie, have a nice weekend yourself! 🙂

    Reply

  5. I love that rose of yours! I hadn’t heard of it, but with the shorter height, I may find a place for it in the cottage garden!

    Thanks Cameron. It is a nice size rose for smaller structures that’s for sure. Hope you get one for your garden. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Good morning, Racquel. I had never heard of Morning Magic. It looks beautiful. Another winner for Radler.
    Marnie

    It’s fairly new I think. I found it last year in a catalog for the first time and ordered my second one online this spring. Thanks Marnie. 🙂

    Reply

  7. The view thru your arbor is gorgeous!

    Why thank you Tina! 🙂

    Reply

  8. I’m jealous!

    LOL, don’t be. 😉

    Reply

  9. It’s a sensational color Racquel. With all those other attributes, I can see why you added another. The arbor is going to be amazing with them blooming on both sides. Remember to take that picture for us! Happy Memorial Day weekend.

    Thanks Kathleen, the soft pink tone works so well with other colors. Finally a Rose that doesn’t aggravate me, lol Promise to get a shot when it fills in more. Happy Memorial Day weekend to you too! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Your timing couldn’t be better, Racquel! I’m looking for a climber for my new arbor, and this one sounds like a perfect choice. I like the whole Knockout series for their disease resistance and easy maintenance, but I didn’t know there was a climber in the series. Now the trick will be to find one of these:) Have a great weekend!

    Well glad I could introduce you to a nice climber from the Knockout series. If you google the name you should be able to find an online nursery that carries it. I can’t remember the one I ordered from, sorry. 😦 Have a nice weekend Rose.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

