Veggie Garden Update

(From upper L-R across & down: Kentucky Wonder Beans, Sassy x Cucumber, Cherry Tomatoes, Green Bell Pepper & Better Bush Tomatoes)

Here’s a brief look at what’s going on in the veggie garden this month.  Not shown are Straightneck Yellow Squash, Purple Podded Beans, Sweet Banana Peppers and Dixie x Squash (crookneck).  I also planted Cucino x Cucumbers from seed as I did last year.  But both sowings were unsuccessful.  So I was pleased when these Sassy hybrids germinated quickly.  So far everything is looking good, I’m pleased with the size of these Better Bush tomatoes.  I also planted Roma and Celebrity which are full of blossoms but no signs of fruit yet.  After weeks of pure heat with no precipitation it was good to get some much needed rain this weekend.   Even though I was handwatering the veggies daily they look better after Mother Nature did her thing.  🙂 

Here’s a  long shot of the garden beds so you can see how tall the plants are at this point.  These were planted about a month ago give or take a week.  Everything other than the tomatoes & peppers were planted from seed.   The peppers & tomatoes were small 3″ size transplants purchased at the local big box store in early April.   🙂

12 responses to this post.

  1. I can’t believe how big your tomatoes are! Mine aren’t even blooming yet!

    I was surprised how fast they grew too, the peppers aren’t growing as fast. 🙂

    Reply

  2. I must admit I’m jealous that your veggies are so big. We haven’t even been able to plant ours outside yet as we’re still getting some frost at night here in Toronto. That Canadian cold hangs on till late May here.

    I’m sorry Heather, seems that the cold has lingered in some of our northern states as well. Hope it thaws out soon. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Very nice….I just noticed I have my first ever sugar snap pea flowers! gail

    Hooray for Sugar Snap Peas! Hope you gets lots to harvest Gail. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by Lola on May 16, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    I have some little tomatoes & peppers but my beets, radishes don’t look so good. They are going to seed & no veggie. I’ve pulled my romaine lettuce & spinach which they looked good. It stayed too cool too long then “bam” it turned too hot too fast.

    At least you tried the cool season veggies, I piddled around too long and missed my window of opportunity. Sorry that the heat came too fast. Good luck with your summer crop. 🙂

    Reply

  5. That’s incredible Raquel. I planted peas on St Patricks day and they are still only 3″ high!! I think I better take a lesson from you!

    I didn’t do a spring crop since I was procrastinating getting started this year. Hope everything works out for you this growing season Kathleen. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Looking good Racquel. I posted veggies today, I don’t normally do that.

    Thanks Darla, well I will right over to check out what your yummy edibles look like this month. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Awesome! They are SO big. Mine are still tiny and not doing a thing.

    Thanks Tina, I guess they love these raised beds & this spot. It gets sun from about 6 am to maybe 1 pm. 🙂

    Reply

  8. So glad to see veggies Racquel. We could not have a vegetable gardent this year, and I miss it.

    I’m sorry to hear that Linda, this will be my second season with this plot and I’m thrilled with the progress so far. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Your garden looks great. I’m so jealous of those tomatoes. I’ve been thinking of growing some in those big containers like you have.
    Marnie

    Thanks Marnie, actually I have the tomatoes in my raised beds. But I do grow squash & beans in large pots. I’ve also done herbs, jalapeno peppers and lettuce. 🙂

    Reply

  10. All looks lush and yummy!

    Thanks Joey and it’s currently enjoying a nice soft rain that will be going on allday. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Hi Racquel. I just got my tomatoes planted so they’re nowhere close to blooming. My raised beds are one of the best investments we’ve ever made. I can’t wait to see how they do this year.

    Can’t wait to see how the new veggie garden works out with the new raised beds Cinj. 🙂 This will be my second season and I was quite happy with last years harvest.

    Reply

  12. Wow! I can’t believe how big those tomatoes are already. I haven’t even planted mine yet. We’ve had the rain, too, but it’s still much too cold here for warm weather vegetables.

    And after all the rain we’ve been having the past few days I bet they grow a foot. 🙂 Our temps have been cooler with the rain and everything. But no lower than 60.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

