When it rains…

We had a big storm come through this week and wreaked havoc on my Peonies.  Specifically  the  ‘Sandra Bernhardt’ Peonies.  This happens almost every spring just as the large blossoms start unfurling.  Mother Nature has a wicked sense of humor.   Now don’t get me wrong I was grateful for the rain.  It had been weeks since we got any substantial precipitation.  The garden was starting to look desperate since I was mainly hand watering the veggie garden, new seedlings, annuals & container plantings.   Since the stems were bent and broken in some spots I decided to make the best of it and cut a huge bouquet for the house.  These are so fragrant and the kitchen smells heavenly right now.  🙂

9 responses to this post.

  1. Those are so pretty! Can you send some rain down here? I’m having to hand water myself. That’s one job I don’t care for.

    Thanks Susie, I would be happy to send you some rain if I could. Sorry. 🙂

    Reply

  2. They are lovely.

    Thank you Tina. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Hey there Racquel girl !
    I have been so tardy with visiting blogs it is shameful ! LOL
    I just had a conversation with you (albeit just me ? haha) saying that we get so busy when our season hits that this happens at THIS time of year right ?
    I think we all need to cut ourselves some slack .. haha
    Actually I am resting up today to tackle what is fore casted as a great weekend .. so husband and I will be busy for sure ..
    We had good rainfall last night and we needed it .. I too was dragging the hose around as well .. so it is a relief to have the garden re-watered ? very well ! LOL
    I love your peonies ! .. I have “Blaze” it is a single red one with intense yellow centers .. but I have no idea if there is scent to them ? I must check that out when they open up ! 😉
    Enjoy your garden and don’t work too hard .. sit back and smile at it for a while : )
    Joy

    Well I’m glad I was able to catch up with you Joy. 🙂 And it’s good to know I’m not the only one who gets behind on visiting everyone. Life is like that sometimes. It was nice to not have to drag hoses this week. Yay! Thanks I love the fragrance on this one but I really need to add a couple of singles to my garden soon. Let me know if yours is fragrant or maybe I’ll just google it. 😉 I’m enjoying the A/C today, it’s warm out there. Even the birds are taking some dips to cool off.

    Reply

  4. P.S.
    I meant to say how fresh and pretty your blog is looking .. love the astilbe header picture and that quote ! How TRUE is THAT !!
    Joy : )

    Aw, thanks woman. I’m glad you like the new look. I get bored easily so I switch the themes up frequently. lol 😉 That’s my all time favorite quote, had it in the header of my Blogger blog too. And I’m loving how great all my Astilbes are doing this season.

    Reply

  5. What a gorgeous arrangement!!

    Thank you Darla. 🙂

    Reply

  6. I hate when that happens! and it usually does here too but at least you made lemonade from lemons, right? I bet your kitchen does smell heavenly.

    Exactly, sometimes you just have to make the best of a bad situation. And this way I’m getting to enjoy the blooms up close daily. 🙂

    Reply

  7. They are beautiful, sorry you had to cut them. We got another shower last night around 2. I love overnight rain which gets everything watered without making people change their plans for the day.

    Thanks Les, me too a bit. We got an ugly storm with some much appreciated & never to take for granted rain too. I love the rain but the thunder & lightening scared my dogs to death. Have a nice weekend! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Ohhh, I know what you mean about bouquets of peonies! That scent is heavenly! Hope the storms didn’t do too much damage!

    Yep the best scent in the world right now Linda. 😉 Nope other than that I was lucky about damage. My neighbor lost half his Bradford Pear, so I’m counting my blessings.

    Reply

  9. Your bouquet is gorgeous! This is one way to enjoy the peonies if you can’t get outside. It’s been raining off and on here, too; we need it, but I’m very slow in getting much done in the garden.

    Thanks Rose. Yep they usually don’t enjoyed as much as they should be since their in an obscure place in the garden. 🙂 We got more rain the past two nights and at this point I’m not complaining since we had a long dry spell prior to this weekend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

