New additions

I promised I would post about the new stuff I got Saturday when I visited with Janet @ The Learning Garden Twelveth Annual Plant Sale.  Here’s my new additions:  Large pot at back is Silphium perfoliatum or Cup Plant.  It gets quite tall 5-8′ which is perfect for the back of my borders and sprouts yellow daisy like flowers.  At the front left is Acer palmatum ‘Sano Kaku’ or Coralbark Japanese Maple.  I know it’s quite teeny right now but with some pampering it will get 12-15′ and needs a shady area.  For now it will be planted in a pot until it’s big enough to transplant into the garden.  The last and final addition is Vitex agnus-castus or Chaste Tree.  I love the interesting multistem trunks and gorgeous blue blooms.  This small ornamental tree will get between 10-20′ at maturity.  It will be going into a pot for now too.  Overall I’m happy with my purchases and my youngest son went along and did a brief tour of the gardens with me.  🙂

13 responses to this post.

  1. Love NEW !!!!
    Gotta have fun.

    Thanks Patsi. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Very nice additions..I must get a Japanese Maple for my yard. I’ll send the Iris at the beginning of the week.

    Thanks Darla. I’m very excited for this little Japanese Maple to grow up. 🙂 Thanks again for the Iris, you are the best.

    Reply

  3. I’m not familiar with these plants, but have access to cup plant. I have been afraid to try it, because I read that it can be invasive. I don’t have room for plants that like to spread very far. I’ll be interested in seeing how yours does. It’s a cool looking plant.

    Thanks for that info about the Cup Plant. I’ll have to keep an eye on it. My Monarda is taking over too, but easy to remove.

    Reply

  4. Ohhhhh, you got a vitex! Can’t wait for it to bloom with that delicious sweet fragrance! Yum!

    Thanks Linda, I’ve been wanting one of these for some time now. Hope my little baby one grows quickly! 🙂

    Reply

  5. You will be so happy with the Vitex —one day it will look like the ones we saw last year. The maple is a winner as well……. glad you bought one. The butterflies will like the Cupplant.

    Can’t wait for my baby trees to grow up and become as beautiful as the mature specimens I’ve seen. Thanks Janet. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Cool plants! I sure with I could find a reasonably priced Coral Bark maple around here. They tend to be pricing to get anything of any size.

    Thanks Dave, these little trees were bargains. This sale is worth getting up early for once a year just for the great finds & deals. 🙂

    Reply

  7. I love Vitex. We have several planted at work by the nursery. More people stop by and want to know what it is. Unfortunately I don’t have any here at my home. I tried rooting some last year with no success.

    Me too Susie, I saw several nice specimens at various public gardens here. I can’t wait for mine to get bigger. 🙂

    Reply

  8. I have a plant sale coming up this Saturday. Can’t wait to see what plants will be available.
    Marnie

    Hope you find some great stuff. Share photos with us. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Lucky you to get some good buys and visit with Janet! I love the Sango Kaku!

    Thanks Tina. It was a good day all around. 🙂

    Reply

  10. I’m going plant shopping this Saturday ~ I hope I find some good deals like you did! I don’t have any of your new purchases but they all sound and look great. The leaves on the Maple are so pretty. I bet they grow fairly quickly in your wonderful climate.

    Hope you find some good deals this weekend. I’ll check in with your blog to see if you post about new stuff. I hope you’re right about it growing quickly. 🙂

    Reply

  11. My old neighbor bought a cup plant at a wildflower sale years ago. We watched it grow and grow. It grew way over my head. The leaves grow around the stem in a way to hold water when it rains. That’s where the name comes from. Hers wasn’t invasive…just made a colony of sorts right around the plant. You’ll have fun watching this one grow.
    Balisha

    Thanks for that bit of info Balisha. It will be fun to watch it grow over the next few months. 🙂

    Reply

  12. You have some good new additions!

    Vitex can easily be limbed up like a specimen tree. That’s what I’ve done to mine over the last two seasons. My unknown variety seeds out a lot, so I have an offspring from last year that I moved to the meadow.

    Thanks Cameron for that info. I’ve done that with my Crepe Myrtle & ‘Limelight’ Hydrangea too. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Plant sale !!!!
    You had to have fun…nice picks.
    Just learned about a Masters Gardeners plant sale they have every year here….maybe there’s still time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

